Book Hoarder’s Selection (48): Sunshine Sketches of a Little Town by Stephen Leacock

book hoarder new-01

BOOK HOARDER’S SELECTION, is a feature of Reading In Winter, which will feature one book from my collection that I plan to read in the coming week. These are NOT review books, but books I’ve purchased or have been gifted, which have been neglected for a long time.

sunshine sketchesTITLE: Sunshine Sketches of a Little Town

AUTHOR: Stephen Leacock

HOW LONG I’VE HAD IT: Since April 2012.

WHY I’M READING IT: So far this year I have noticed a big trend in my book hoarder selections — books from 2012! Goodness. See, this is why I have this post, so I can read these older books. And believe me, I have a TON of them! I won this one from CBC Books on Twitter during one of their all day contests. I’ve heard really good things about it, mainly that it’s really funny. Plus, it looks like it’s a shorter read, so hopefully it won’t take too long to get through. AND it’s another book by a Canadian! Another trend in these posts!

goodreads-badge-add-plus-d700d4d3e3c0b346066731ac07b7fe47

SYNOPSIS:

Affectionately combining both the idyllic and ironic, Sunshine Sketches of a Little Town is Stephen Leacock’s most beloved book. Set in fictional Mariposa, an Ontario town on the shore of Lake Wissanotti, these sketches present a remarkable range of characters: some irritating, some exasperating, some foolhardy, but all endearing. Painted with the skilful brushstrokes of a great comic artist, the delightful inhabitants of Mariposa represent the people of small towns everywhere.

As fresh, funny, and insightful today as when it was first published in 1912, Sunshine Sketches of a Little Town is Stephen Leacock at his best – colourful, imaginative, and thoroughly entertaining.

Have you read this book?

signature-01

2 thoughts on “Book Hoarder’s Selection (48): Sunshine Sketches of a Little Town by Stephen Leacock

  1. I’ve been curious about this book. Mostly, because, if the Canadian humour award for fiction is named for Leacock, his writing must be funny, right? I’ll be interested in hearing about this one!

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

