ARC Review: Broken Hearts, Fences, and Other Things to Mend (Broken Hearts & Revenge, #1) by Katie Finn

books-reviews-button-01

broken heartsTitle: Broken Hearts, Fences, and Other Things to Mend
Series: Broken Hearts & Revenge, #1
Author:
Katie Finn
Genre: YA
Source: Publisher (ARC)

goodreads-badge-add-plus-d700d4d3e3c0b346066731ac07b7fe47

Summer, boys, and friendships gone sour. This new series has everything that perfect beach reads are made of!

Gemma just got dumped and is devastated. She finds herself back in the Hamptons for the summer—which puts her at risk of bumping into Hallie, her former best friend that she wronged five years earlier. Do people hold grudges that long?

When a small case of mistaken identity causes everyone, including Hallie and her dreamy brother Josh, to think she’s someone else, Gemma decides to go along with it.

Gemma’s plan is working (she’s finding it hard to resist Josh), but she’s finding herself in embarrassing situations (how could a bathing suit fall apart like that!?). Is it coincidence or is someone trying to expose her true identity? And how will Josh react if he finds out who she is?

Katie Finn hits all the right notes in this perfect beginning to a new summer series: A Broken Hearts & Revenge novel.

my thoughts-01

Thank you to Raincoast Books for sending me an ARC of this book for review! 

By now, it’s no secret that Katie Finn is Morgan Matson, the author of some of my favourite YA books ever. So it was no surprise that when I saw she was writing as Katie Finn that I jumped at the chance to read the first in a new series. I think I went in with too high of expectations, though, because this was not what I expected.

What I expected was some lighthearted YA with characters I would fall in love with and a story I could relate to. This book started out really good and I was so intrigued, but then it takes a wild turn with the actions of one of the main characters. These actions were something I just couldn’t agree with. Of course, if you’re really interested in reading the story, I don’t want to ruin it by telling you what this character did, but all I can say is that it was a diabolical, horrible thing, and something that shouldn’t be forgiven.

There’s also the issue about the non-ending of the book. The story is quite long and I expected some resolution by the end, but there was a lot left open by the end of the story, which really, really bugged me. Even if a book is part of a series, I’d like that book to stand somewhat on its own, but this one ended with a definite “to be continued.”

The story screamed of Mean Girls and was quite predictable from early on. I was a little sad that a lot of the things I expected to happen did happen and there wasn’t a lot that was a surprise for me. That combined with characters that I didn’t really like made for a long read. It had real potential but really fell short for me.

In the end, while I love Morgan Matson, I can’t say that I love the writing of her alter-ego. The idea seemed like a fun one but certain elements just seemed wrong to me. I will continue to read and love Morgan’s work, but I will definitely take the work of Katie Finn with a grain of salt. There’s a chance I may check out the next book in this series, but maybe not. We’ll see.

rating-3-01

AUTHOR LINKS
WEB | TWITTER | GOODREADS

signature-01

2 thoughts on “ARC Review: Broken Hearts, Fences, and Other Things to Mend (Broken Hearts & Revenge, #1) by Katie Finn

  1. I hate when books in a series don’t have a self contained arc. It doesn’t seem fair to the reader. This does sound like a good summer read though. I’ll have to keep it in mind.

    • Agreed! There are a few where I’ve just accepted it because I loved the story so much (The Selection comes to mind), but I love a story to have an actual ending, even if it’s continuing in another volume.

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

