Review: In a Glass Grimmly (A Tale Dark and Grimm, #2) by Adam Gidwitz

books-reviews-button-01

in a glass grimmlyTitle: In a Glass Grimmly
Series: A Tale Dark and Grimm, #2
Author:
Adam Gidwitz
Genre: Middle Grade, Fairy Tales
Source: Gifted by Alexa (ARC)

goodreads-badge-add-plus-d700d4d3e3c0b346066731ac07b7fe47

More Grimm tales await in the harrowing, hilarious companion to a beloved new classic

Take caution ahead–
Oversize plant life, eerie amphibious royalty, and fear-inducing creatures abound.

Lest you enter with dread.
Follow Jack and Jill as they enter startling new landscapes that may (or may not) be scary, bloody, terrifying, and altogether true.

Step lively, dear reader . . .
Happily ever after isn’t cutting it anymore.

In this companion novel to Adam Gidwitz’s widely acclaimed, award-winning debut, A Tale Dark & Grimm, Jack and Jill explore a new set of tales from the Brothers Grimm and others, including Jack and the Beanstalk and The Frog Prince.

my thoughts-01

If there’s an author who will make you spit out your beverage in laughter within the first few pages, that would be Adam Gidwitz. Seriously. Water EVERYWHERE.

OK, just kidding, but in all seriousness, Adam Gidwitz is a pretty funny guy.

I remember picking up his first book, A Tale Dark and Grimm, from the library and being completely surprised (in a good way!) by the story. It was a wonderful retelling of fairy tales — except the fairy tales he chooses to retell are not the happy and predictable ones we see in storybooks, but the ORIGINAL fairy tales by the brother’s Grimm.

When I was in university, I took a child’s lit course and we got to read some of these original fairy tales, as well as see the evolution that has happened with them throughout the years. These stories started out as DARK.

I received an ARC of this book from a fellow blogger (thanks, Alexa!) and I let it sit for quite some time before digging it. I’m not sure why I waited so long. I loved the first book but was probably skeptical about the second one, being a companion book and all. I felt like it could NEVER live up to the first book.

But then I started busting a gut within the first few pages and that theory went out the window. Gidwitz is a born storyteller, even if he’s retelling older stories. Obviously his inspiration comes from the originals, but I think it takes a certain kind of talent to weave those original stories into something fun and exciting for kids these days, without being too terrifying. But don’t worry — Gidwitz still interrupts the story at times to warn us of anything TOO terrifying (well, sometimes. When he remembers.).

I still loved the characters of Jack and Jill, especially the introductory chapters where we learn a little bit more about them in a bit of a twisted tale of the frog prince — who is really just a frog. From there, they go on an exciting journey trying to find a magic glass, through a sky of giants, beanstalks, and more.

Just like the first book, I also loved the author interjections. I mean, you can’t tell a story straight through without adding your own opinions and thoughts, right? I especially loved how when we’d read something crazy in the story, Gidwitz would come in and let you know that YES, this was indeed in the true tale of the story. With his own smattering of humour, of course.

I FLEW through this book, it was so good. Now I really can’t wait for the final book in the series, A Grimm Conclusion, to be released. Here’s hoping I won’t feel it necessary to put off reading it right away. If these first two books in the series are any indication, it’s bound to be amazing.

rating-5-01

AUTHOR LINKS
WEB | GOODREADS

signature-01

2 thoughts on “Review: In a Glass Grimmly (A Tale Dark and Grimm, #2) by Adam Gidwitz

  1. I LOVE LOVE LOVE Adam Gidwitz’ books! I just picked up the third installment (The Grimm Conclusion) last week. They are hilarious, really well told, and also provide moments of insight and introspection about childhood and growing up that I found really meaningful. I’m so glad you like them, too 🙂 -Tania

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

