Bookish Spotlight (8): Damn You, Autocorrect! by Jillian Madison

Bookish Spotlight Button 2-01

Bookish Spotlight is a new feature for 2014. I wanted a feature that would showcase — in my opinion — the best books, or, the books that I absolutely love and can’t stop sharing with other people. These can be books, entire series — anything goes! My goal is that my readers might find a great new read after reading this feature. 

autocorrectTitle: Damn You, Autocorrect!
Author: Jillian Madison
Released: March 2011

goodreads-badge-add-plus-d700d4d3e3c0b346066731ac07b7fe47

If you own an iPhone, BlackBerry, Droid, or any smartphone, there’s a good chance you’ve screamed that phrase out at least once. In Damn You, Autocorrect!, Pop-culture blogger Jillian Madison shows you are not alone.

Filled with submissions from readers of her popular website, this laugh-out-loud funny book features cringe-worthy exchanges with parents, friends, significant others, and co-workers that contain some of the most unintentionally hilarious–and mortifying–mistakes ever caused by Autocorrect. Inside, you’ll find a husband who tells his wife that he just “laid” (paid) the babysitter, a dad who tells his daughter that he and her mom are going to “divorce” (Disney), and many more epic texting fails too raunchy to list here.

Whether you love technology, texting humor, or taking just a little bit of pleasure in the misfortune of others, Damn You, Autocorrect! will leave you laughing until you cry, and thankful that nothing this embarrassing has happened to you. Yet.

Why it’s a favourite: Remember when I said I never really cry when reading books? Well, laughing is a completely different matter. And, really, how embarrassing is it when you’re reading a book in a public place and just burst out laughing? I mean, you’ll look crazy. So, as a warning, this is NOT a book you want to read when you’re, say, on the bus, waiting for a movie to start, or waiting for your kid’s dance recital to start. You WILL laugh. A lot. I was pretty much crying when I read this book, I was laughing so hard, and I had to look away when I had to drink my water, or I would definitely spit it up all over the book from laughing. If you’re looking for something quick and inSANELY funny, read this book. You won’t regret it!

Have you read this one? 

signature-01

2 thoughts on “Bookish Spotlight (8): Damn You, Autocorrect! by Jillian Madison

  1. The only thing more embarrassing than the number of times I have yelled that at my phone is the content of some of the texts I have sent.

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

