Review: Snowed Over by Angie Stanton

books-reviews-button-01

snowed overTitle: Snowed Over
Author:
Angie Stanton
Genre: Holiday Romance
Source: Purchased (eBook)

goodreads-badge-add-plus-d700d4d3e3c0b346066731ac07b7fe47

To college student, Katie Brandt, ‘Home for the Holidays’ sounds like hell. When her parents separated, their holiday traditions shattered like a dropped ornament. What could be worse than celebrating Christmas with her suddenly single mom and mom’s new boyfriend?

Alex Walker, an engaged 20-year-old, dreads going home for his own reasons. He has a daunting task ahead of him and wishes he could skip the holidays altogether. So when a friend of a friend needs a ride north, Alex finds that having beautiful Katie seated by his side proves to be just the distraction he needs.

A simple ride home for Christmas turns into a nightmare when light snow rages into a full-scale blizzard. Katie and Alex find themselves stranded, and a vacant cabin becomes a haven from the storm.
Under different circumstances, time alone with Alex would be the ultimate Christmas gift, but Katie knows Alex is engaged and she must hide her growing attraction.

However, Alex harbors a secret that just might change this holiday from the worst Christmas ever, to the best.

my thoughts-01

I’m always in the mood for holiday reads when the Christmas season rolls around. Snowed Over is a novella that I had been seeing on many blogs, with positive reviews. I actually fell in love with the cover first — it’s just so perfect for the winter season!

The story is cute enough, but I found that the main characters were missing a bit of chemistry. I loved the premise of two people being thrown together and falling. In love, but the story seemed a bit rushed and there really wasn’t a lot to make their relationship convincing. Perhaps if the story was a bit longer it could have been more fleshed out. There was also the dialogue which was hit and miss at times — the feel I got from this novella is that it was meant to be just a cute little story without a lot of depth. I mean, there were some fun things that happened, but at times it just felt a little bit like a first story, rather than one by an author with many stories available.

When it came to the characters, I guess the one thing I really didn’t like was Alex’s situation. It didn’t seem appealing to me at all and I’m not really sure how Katie could fall for him. Another reviewer called him wishy-washy and I completely agree — if he could do what he did in the story (and I don’t want to give it away), I’d steer clear from him.

If you’re looking for something cute to read over the holidays, you might like this one. It’s a very quick read, taking me only an afternoon to get through. Though if you’re looking for convincing characters that are fully developed, you may want to pass.

rating-3-01

Author Links

WEB | GOODREADS

signature-01

2 thoughts on “Review: Snowed Over by Angie Stanton

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

