May

may recap-01

Well hi there! It’s been a while!

Oh gosh, where did May go? I find that as the months go by, I have a hard time remembering what exactly happened in any of them! I think I should start journaling or something — something to keep track of the days! Whenever my boy turns a new month old, I’ll go back and write out a recap of his month, noting anything new that he might have done, or maybe some fun things we did in the month, and I still haven’t written his 6 month recap! I feel like we spent most of the month either going to meet our mom and baby friends, or we were home sick. Really uneventful!

Since we did have that sick time, I spent time catching up on Homeland, as well as Bates Motel. Yes, I love books, but I also love TV. I’m very excited to see what new shows come up this summer and actually picked up a copy of Tom Perotta’s The Leftovers so I can read it before the show comes out!

Other than that, we had an outdoor potluck this month — another one today — and a few mother’s day dinners, long weekend dinners. Me and the boy went to our first movie put on by Movies for Mommies, The Neighbours, which was hilarious! He did super good and napped for most of it since it took place during his naptime.

I’m still managing to get books read and have also started writing music again! It’s so much harder to write and record music with a baby, but we’re making it work. I’m so thankful for ProTools since it lets me get down ideas fast, so I can go back later and work on them later. I’m also lucky that my little boy loves music, so he sits and watches me play, sings along, and if I’m recording he seems to know to be quiet until the record button is off. He’s very cute. 🙂

I’ve been working on updating some of my pages out there on the interwebz, so you can download ALL my tracks on Reverbnation, as well as tracks on Bandcamp! I have my bookish song page on Bandcamp, but did you know I also have a personal page? Here are some links if you’re interested:

http://www.reverbnation.com/kristilynrobertson
http:///www.kristilynrobertson.bandcamp.com
http://www.readinginwinter.bandcamp.com

Oh! And remember when I signed up for the A Tale of Two Cities read-along? Yeah. BIG FAIL. I had wanted to really get into the book and like it, but I read the first part for the read-along and just couldn’t get up the motivation to pick it up again. I do really want to read the rest of it, but just not now. It’s unbelievably confusing! I’m still not entirely sure what I read …
books read-01

I didn’t do too bad this month with reading. We’ve been getting outside a LOT so I haven’t had a whole lot of time to read — by the time the boy goes to bed, I’m ready for bed, too!

  1. Broken Hearts, Fences & Other Things to Mend (Broken Hearts, #1) by Katie Finn
  2. Second Star by Allysa B. Scheinmel
  3. Spun by Catherine McKenzie
  4. Just Listen by Sarah Dessen
  5. Skipping a Beat by Sarah Pekkenan
  6. Hold Still by Nina LaCour
  7. The Elite (The Selection, #2) by Keira Cass

Managed to get through three review books this month! I’m so happy to have read another Sarah Dessen book (so close to having read ALL of her books!) and finally got to The Elite! I really liked that one and wanted to get to The One this weekend, but NONE of the stores in the city had the hardcover! I was very disappointed since I have the first two books in hardcover and the paperback would just look silly next to them … Guess I’ll have to wait for the Book Depository to deliver it!

Currently I’m working on City of Lost Souls, the 5th book in the Mortal Instruments series. I just bought the last book in the series, so I’m a little behind. I find Cassandra Clare books take me FOREVER to get through, so I expect to be done in no less than a couple years. /sarcasm

How was your month? Have you read anything good lately?

signature-01

3 thoughts on “May

  1. Sounds like you had a good May, well, outside of being sick. Also, City of Heavenly Fire is an awesome read 🙂 I’ve been snailing my way through it. 7 days of reading so far, but loving it and *hopefully* finishing tonight!

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

