Book Hoarder’s Selection (50): Five Flavors of Dumb by Antony John

book hoarder new-01

BOOK HOARDER’S SELECTION, is a feature of Reading In Winter, which will feature one book from my collection that I plan to read in the coming week. These are NOT review books, but books I’ve purchased or have been gifted, which have been neglected for a long time.

10 five flavors of dumbTITLE: Five Flavors of Dumb

AUTHOR: Antony John

HOW LONG I’VE HAD IT: Since January 2012.

WHY I’M READING IT: Oh goodness, another book from 2012 AND another one I’d won but never got around to reading. I’m not sure why, since this one has to do with music — something I love in books. I’ve also seen some really good reviews not only for this book but also for Antony’s writing — I can’t wait to give it a try!

goodreads-badge-add-plus-d700d4d3e3c0b346066731ac07b7fe47

SYNOPSIS:

The Challenge: Piper has one month to get the rock band Dumb a paying gig.

The Deal: If she does it, Piper will become the band’s manager and get her share of the profits.

The Catch: How can Piper possibly manage one egomaniacal pretty boy, one talentless piece of eye candy, one crush, one silent rocker, and one angry girl? And how can she do it when she’s deaf?

Piper can’t hear Dumb’s music, but with growing self-confidence, a budding romance, and a new understanding of the decision her family made to buy a cochlear implant for her deaf baby sister, she discovers her own inner rock star and what it truly means to be a flavor of Dumb.

Have you read this book?

signature-01

12 thoughts on “Book Hoarder’s Selection (50): Five Flavors of Dumb by Antony John

  1. I don’t buy books often so I don’t have shelves and stacks full of un-read books, but I do admit that giveaway winners often get low priority. I don’t know why, since I was obviously interested enough to enter the giveaway! But my revolving piles of library books (and their due dates!) just always seem more pressing.

    • I always feel the opposite … At least library books can be returned and taken out again! I feel like I need to catch up on my bought books so I can always buy more!

      • Yeah, I have returned my fair share of unread books… but there’s a certain (self-induced) shame in it. Like those restaurants who have the biggest steak or the hottest chili, and you get a T-shirt and your picture on the wall if you can finish the whole thing… when I return my unread books, I feel like the guys who just couldn’t do it.

      • That’s an interesting way to look at it! One thing I do love about library books is getting a book for the first read. Even if I don’t get to reading it, it’s still nice having that brand new, crisp book on my dresser to look at. 🙂

  2. I haven’t read this one but I do have it on my shelf– the cover was too awesome to resist! And it just seems like a really cool novel! And I’ve never read about a deaf main character, which is something I need to fix real soon 🙂

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

