Book Hoarder’s Selection (51): Possess by Gretchen McNeil

book hoarder new-01

BOOK HOARDER’S SELECTION, is a feature of Reading In Winter, which will feature one book from my collection that I plan to read in the coming week. These are NOT review books, but books I’ve purchased or have been gifted, which have been neglected for a long time.

possessTITLE: Possess

AUTHOR: Gretchen McNeil

HOW LONG I’VE HAD IT: Since July 2012.

WHY I’M READING IT: Last year, I read TEN by Gretchen McNeil and absolutely loved it. Meanwhile, I have TWO copies of this one — I originally bought it as an ebook and then saw it was available as a hardcover (on sale!) so I bought that as well. And STILL haven’t read it. Since it’s the Halloween season, this must be fixed! I’ve heard this one is great — perfectly spooky!

goodreads-badge-add-plus-d700d4d3e3c0b346066731ac07b7fe47

SYNOPSIS:

Rule #1: Do not show fear.
Rule #2: Do not show pity.
Rule #3: Do not engage.
Rule #4: Do not let your guard down.
Rule #5: They lie.

Fifteen-year-old Bridget Liu just wants to be left alone: by her mom, by the cute son of a local police sergeant, and by the eerie voices she can suddenly and inexplicably hear. Unfortunately for Bridget, it turns out the voices are demons – and Bridget has the rare ability to banish them back to whatever hell they came from.

Terrified to tell people about her new power, Bridget confides in a local priest who enlists her help in increasingly dangerous cases of demonic possession. But just as she is starting to come to terms with her new power, Bridget receives a startling message from one of the demons. Now Bridget must unlock the secret to the demons’ plan before someone close to her winds up dead – or worse, the human vessel of a demon king.

Have you read this book?

signature-01

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

