Cover Love: Don’t Turn Around

cover love 2014-01

Lately, I’ve noticed that a LOT of covers feature people. This is fine and all, but when I read a book, I’d rather picture someone in my head rather than have the cover lay it out for me. PLUS there are some covers that just look the same or are cheesy with people on them. It’s hard to do a super artistic and eye-catching cover these days, I guess … I mean EVERYONE is wearing big dresses and has a serious look on their faces. Despite the genre of the novel. BUT I’ve been noticing something else now — everyone’s backside! What’s with this new trend?

baby got back

a mad wicked folly deadly little lies entwined gone south
hereafter stay The Headmistress of Rosemere the heiress of winterwood
the madman's daughter torment anna dressed in blood dark companion

What do you think of covers that don’t show faces?  

signature-01

8 thoughts on “Cover Love: Don’t Turn Around

  1. Some of these I find rather eye-catching. I would probably pick them up in the store. I’m not sure if it’s that they aren’t facing me but they are quite drama twice. I agree, I’d rather not see a face but picture my own. It’s why I don’t like covers of books after they have made them into movies and have the actors plastered all over them.

  2. hahaha I hadn’t realized there were so many books with people’s backs until you pointed that out! I kind of prefer it to faces, because I find faces on the cover obtrusive if that’s not how I imagine characters on the cover (also, the whole whitewashing of book covers like Immortal Rules definitely messes with me). So I don’t mind the backs of people, but those fluffy dresses can definitely go!

    – Kritika @ Snowflakes & Spider Silk

    • Yeah, that’s what I thought too. Also maybe the publishers do this to draw people into the book since it looks so mysterious.
      i quite like some of them e.g. ‘The Headmistress of Rosemere’ for the reason above but others like the cover for ‘Stay’ don’t really work.

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

