[Audiobook] Review: Soulless (Parasol Protectorate, #1) by Gail Carriger

Image from APA (www.audiopub.org)

Image from APA (www.audiopub.org)

soullessTitle: Soulless
Series: Parasol Protectorate, #1
Author: Gail Carriger
Genre: Steampunk
Source: Purchased (Audiobook)

Length: 10 hours 52 minutes (Unabridged)
Narrated by: Emily Gray
Published by: Recorded Books

goodreads-badge-add-plus-d700d4d3e3c0b346066731ac07b7fe47

First, she has no soul. Second, she’s a spinster whose father is both Italian and dead. Third, she was rudely attacked by a vampire, breaking all standards of social etiquette.

Where to go from there? From bad to worse apparently, for Alexia accidentally kills the vampire – and then the appalling Lord Maccon (loud, messy, gorgeous, and werewolf) is sent by Queen Victoria to investigate.

With unexpected vampires appearing and expected vampires disappearing, everyone seems to believe Alexia responsible. Can she figure out what is actually happening to London’s high society? Will her soulless ability to negate supernatural powers prove useful or just plain embarrassing? Finally, who is the real enemy, and do they have treacle tart?

my thoughts-01

Gail Carriger, where have you been all my life?

I wil admit that this series has been on my radar for QUITE some time. Lots of people have been raving about it and I knew that I would love it and yet I still sat on the fence before reading it. When I had some Audible credits, I decided to get the audio for the first book, but still it sat on my iPod unlistened to. FINALLY I got my game on and started listening to the story. Let’s just say that I was so pleasantly surprised by the story that I listened to it within two days, finding any chores I could do in order to justify listening to my audiobook (since I can’t just listen for some reason) and I finished knowing that I would be ordering the series and continuing on with Alexia’s story.

This story was just so much fun to read. I loved Alexia’s character and how quirky and funny she was. I do love the steampunk genre, but I felt like this one was a bit different from some of the other stories I’ve read in this genre. Rather than being oh so serious, this one was a bit more relaxed and so much easier to get into. And there was romance! I was so happy about the romance in the story and have to admit that Alexia had some of the best lines when it came to this romance:

“Ooo,” said Alexia, fascinated, “it shrinks back down again. The books didn’t detail that occurrence.”

I laughed out loud on so many occasions that I’m sure I looked ridiculous as I was listening in my car. But I was so surprised at how enjoyable this story was that it hardly mattered how silly I looked. The only thing I could think of when I finished was how soon I could get back into Alexia’s world. It really is a fun one to be in!

This is a fast-paced book that will have you laughing and swooning — and maybe wanting to talk in a proper British accent for a while after finishing. There’s romance and vampires and werewolves and just so many things to keep readers interested. I recommend this!

rating-5-01

Author Links
WEB | GOODREADS

signature-01

8 thoughts on “[Audiobook] Review: Soulless (Parasol Protectorate, #1) by Gail Carriger

  1. I am so glad you reviewed this one. There are so many books in this series and I still have not started it yet. I have been meaning to because people love it, but because of one thing or another I just never get around to it.

    I’m glad you are just starting the series too and that you enjoyed it so much! I really enjoy quirky characters, and it has been so long since I have read steampunk. I need to pick this one up.

    Great review!

  2. Yes! I just adore this series, and am planning on rereading the first couple before finally finishing the series. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed this one so much! Listening to it would be a fun way to experience this book!

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

