[Audiobook] Review: Life, The Universe, and Everything (THHGTTG, #3), by Douglas Adams

books-reviews-button-01

life, the universe, and everythingTitle: Life, The Universe, and Everything
Series: The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy, #3
Author: Douglas Adams
Genre: Science Fiction, Humour
Source: Borrowed

Length: 6 hours (Unabridged)
Narrated by: Douglas Adams
Published by: New MIllenium Audio

goodreads-badge-add-plus-d700d4d3e3c0b346066731ac07b7fe47

The unhappy inhabitants of planet Krikkit are sick of looking at the night sky above their heads–so they plan to destroy it. The universe, that is. Now only five individuals stand between the killer robots of Krikkit and their goal of total annihilation.

They are Arthur Dent, a mild-mannered space and time traveler who tries to learn how to fly by throwing himself at the ground and missing; Ford Prefect, his best friend, who decides to go insane to see if he likes it; Slartibartfast, the indomitable vice president of the Campaign for Real Time, who travels in a ship powered by irrational behavior; Zaphod Beeblebrox, the two-headed, three-armed ex-president of the galazy; and Trillian, the sexy space cadet who is torn between a persistent Thunder God and a very depressed Beeblebrox.

How will it all end? Will it end? Only this stalwart crew knows as they try to avert “universal” Armageddon and save life as we know it–and don’t know it!

my thoughts-01

I knew this had to happen at some point. Eventually, there would be a book in this series that wouldn’t completely grab me like the rest. This was that book.

One thing I love about this series is the humour, and this book definitely has it, but it didn’t seem to come in spades like it did in the first two books. I think the one thing that I didn’t like with this installment was the fact that it wasn’t as light as the first two. I loved the idea of the characters just randomly traveling through the galaxy, but this book is more about the prevention of the destruction of the planet Krikkit.

The thing that I think was missing in this book was the character interaction with one another. Think of the last book and the whole spaceship-making-a-cup-of-tea bit. That part was hilarious. It was great to see Arthur completely out of his element in space, but with this book, he’s really not. It all just seemed too normal to me. Also, I wonder if maybe the whole plot of the book was just too confusing for me (which doesn’t seem to be the case with the craziness of the first two books), or maybe I could do with a reread of it.

The audio, though, was still amazing. Douglas Adams is not only a wonderful writer, but he can narrate his books quite well. I know some authors can’t do this, but Adams has the right pacing, the right inflection, and just the right everything. I can honestly say that I don’t think I would get the same effect of his books while reading them on the page. If you plan to read these books, I highly recommend listening to the audiobooks narrated by Adams – they are wonderful.

So this book might not have been one of the better ones for me, but that doesn’t mean I won’t continue with the series. I’m eager to see how this trilogy in five parts ends!

rating-3-01

Author Links
WEBGOODREADS

signature-01

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

