Mini Reviews (Cassandra Clare, Kiera Cass, Gayle Forman)

books-reviews-button-01

I seem to love letting the read books pile up after I finish them, so I’ll be doing a mini review post for some of the ones I’ve finished to save some space. Of course “mini” review means short, so we’ll see how longwinded I get … 

city of lost soulsCity of Lost Souls (The Mortal Instruments, #5) by Cassandra Clare

Genre: YA Paranormal
Source: Purchased (Hardcover)
Rating: 4/5

When I read City of Fallen Angels, the fourth book in the Mortal Instruments series, I was disappointed. After finishing the third book in the series I was convinced that that’s where it should have ended. And, really, I’m still thinking that, BUT this book definitely redeemed the disappointment that was the previous book. It might have had to do with the fact that I hadn’t read anything in this series or by Cassandra for a while, having put off this book for quite some time — AND the Infernal Devices series is a lot different from this one. I was happy that it was easy to get right back into this world and fall in love with Jace and Clary all over again. Some of the characters I’m still not crazy keen on (*cough*Simon*cough*) but I was happy to see some of the characters I love make more of an appearance (Isabelle!). I do wish that the books in this series stood on their own a little bit more, but all in all I was very happy with this one!

the oneThe One (The Selection, #3) by Kiera Cass

Genre: YA Dystopian
Source: Purchased (Hardcover)
Rating: 4/5

OK, I admit it, this series is so much fun! When I read the first one, I wasn’t totally convinced that I would continue on since it left me with such a cliffhanger, but after finishing the second book, I was hooked. I had to know how the whole story would end! While it ended just how I wanted it to, there were some definite loose ends that weren’t really tied up, and a lot of explaining had to be done, but we weren’t given anything. HOWEVER, I love looking at the romance in a story and that’s what I got. American drove me NUTS at some points, which is really what I expected to happen since there was the dreaded love triangle (even if it really didn’t seem like a triangle at times). Certain parts of the story just seemed to happen with no rhyme or reason, and characters were there who really had nothing to do with the story, but in the end I was completely entranced enough to want to read this one, I was in LOVE with the cover (seriously, best covers!), and while the world and what was going on wasn’t totally explained to my satisfaction, it was still a great ending to the series. A little cookie-cutter and predictable, but still a lot of fun.
just one night

Just One Night (Just One Day, #2.5) by Gayle Forman

Genre: Contemporary
Source: Purchased (ebook)
Rating: 2/5

I’m pretty sure I read this one more out of curiosity than anything else because I was NOT happy with it. Looking on Goodreads at the other ratings for this one, I can see that I was the definite black sheep of the group because everyone else seemed to have loved this one! I just don’t get it. To me, I feel like this was an afterthought, written only because the second book in the series, Just One Year, had an ending that was just so unsatisfactory that I think Gayle wrote this one just to appease fans. Reading this one, I just didn’t feel that same connection I did with the first book in the series. I wanted to feel that magic, that romance, that anticipation that I felt in the first book! Instead, all I felt was boredom. Even though I was one of the pissed off people with the second book’s ending, I was definitely feeling like the open ending of that book was more welcome than this one. I liked imagining what happened after Willem and Allyson reunited, rather than being given just a little more to the story. I know that it seems awful to say, and I promise I’m still a Gayle Forman fan, but I think that this one should’ve been left in the vault.

Have you read these books? What are your thoughts?

signature-01

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

