Review: I Could Pee on This (And Other Poems by Cats) by Francesco Marciuliano

books-reviews-button-01

I could pee on thisTitle: I Could Pee on This (And Other Poems by Cats)
Author: Francesco Marciuliano
Genre: Non-fiction, Humour
Source: Library (Hardcover)

goodreads-badge-add-plus-d700d4d3e3c0b346066731ac07b7fe47

Cat lovers will laugh out loud at the quirkiness of their feline friends with these insightful and curious poems from the singular minds of housecats. In this hilarious book of tongue-in-cheek poetry, the author of the internationally syndicated comic strip Sally Forth helps cats unlock their creative potential and explain their odd behavior to ignorant humans. With titles like “Who Is That on Your Lap?,” “This Is My Chair,” “Kneel Before Me,” “Nudge,” and “Some of My Best Friends Are Dogs,” the poems collected in I Could Pee on This perfectly capture the inner workings of the cat psyche. With photos of the cat authors throughout, this whimsical volume reveals kitties at their wackiest, and most exasperating (but always lovable).

my thoughts-01

(This review was originally posted on my blog Winter Distractions on April 9, 2013)

Let me just preface this review by saying that I’m not really a cat person. I like dogs.

BUT, I can still appreciate a good cat book — especially one with great cat pictures. This book, a book full of just over 100 pages of poems by cats, had some very cute cat pictures. The lighting was perfect, the poses were adorable, and they made me want to just reach inside the book to smush their smushy little faces.

But I digress. I am NOT a cat person.

There’s still something to be appreciated with a book like this. The poems were definitely cute, but I do think that it’s a book that should be read in small doses. After a while, the poems all started to feel the same, a lot of them lacking a certain punch line to make me laugh out loud. Meanwhile, others started off so simply and it was the last line that did me in. Unfortunately, I could count on one hand the number of poems that were like this.

I lick your nose
I lick your nose again
I drag my claws down your eyelids
Oh, you’re up? Feed me

Still, if you are a cat lover, this is definitely the book for you. I think it would make a good coffee table-type book — I mean, with a title that has ‘pee’ in it, it’s hard NOT to talk about it. It’s also a really beautifully-made little book. I love the colours, the size, and the fact that it isn’t more than 100 pages.

Maybe it’s just me, but I do look forward to the companion book the author is writing, I Could Chew on This (And Other Poems by Dogs). Being a dog-lover, I could get behind that.

rating-3-01

Author Links
GOODREADS

signature-01

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

