June

june recap-01

June is typically the month when all the storms roll in. I remember a June where we had only a few days that didn't have rain. Thankfully, that wasn't this year, but this one particular storm was kind of epic.

June is typically the month when all the storms roll in. I remember a June where we had only a few days that didn’t have rain. Thankfully, that wasn’t this year, but this one particular storm was kind of epic.

So …. did you catch my big announcement this week on the blog? Ah, I can breathe freer now! While it seems kind of daunting to have no drafts (except for the outlines of my monthly recaps) and no scheduled posts (except for the Book Bingo posts), it’s just so refreshing to have a bit of a new start on the blog. It’s been long overdue!

What’s not refreshing — and what’s actually kind of hilarious — is my Goodreads challenge as of the half year mark:

HalfYearReadingChallenge

I was actually going pretty strong at the beginning of the year, which I attribute to the fact that the boy and I didn’t really have any mommy and baby friends, so we spent a lot of our days at home, relaxing. Now we’re just go go go ALL the time and our weeks are full of playdates and fun! Since July is here, I’ve tried to slow down on all the scheduled fun, like baby dance or other things that fall weekly and at certain times. I like to be more open for spontaneity.

At any rate, it feels so weird to be BEHIND a book! It’s been years since I’ve been behind a book!

Other than my obvious lack of reading, this month has been filled with lots of walks, lots of playdates, baby massage, Kindermusik, baby dance classes … lots of fun! I can’t believe I have a 7 month old!

The boy and the dog playing. He LOVES the dogs. They're not quite sure what he's up to. I think they thought he was going to stay still for his whole life, so they're not quite ready for all the movement. If the boy is angry, show him a dog. He will instantly cheer up!

The boy and the dog playing. He LOVES the dogs. They’re not quite sure what he’s up to. I think they thought he was going to stay still for his whole life, so they’re not quite ready for all the movement. If the boy is angry, show him a dog. He will instantly cheer up!

What is also awesome is my boy’s love of reading! Well, he’s not reading yet, but when bedtime comes and he starts to get super angry at his pajamas (because pajamas are just the meanest thing ever) he will always, ALWAYS calm down when we crack open a book. He loves to be read to! A boy after his mama’s heart. 🙂

books read-01

Is it sad that I was super excited to see that I actually read THREE books this month instead of the one I initially thought I read? Remember when I would read 30+ books in a month? SO STRANGE!

  1. City of Lost Souls (The Mortal Instruments, #5) by Cassandra Clare
  2. The One (The Selection, #3) by Kiera Cass
  3. Just One Night (Just One Day, #2.5) by Gayle Forman

I’m actually finishing series books this year, which is amazing. Really, City of Heavenly Fire SHOULD have been on this list, but it was such a huge book and I was getting sick and only managing about 5 pages a night, so I put it on hold. I’m hoping to squeeze in more reading time in July!

mailbox goodies-01

In May I was on a book buying binge, it seemed! I thought June was going to chalk up to be similar when June 4th hit and I had 4 new books already, but I managed to check myself and only got 5 new ones this month — one of them I’m reading right now!

20140703_075117

I’m so interested to try some more Jojo Moyes after Me Before You — an awesome, awesome read (sorry, Laura). And the Deb Caletti book was only $2 at Indigo! Win! The Almost Truth was on the sale rack for $4.99 — I’d been eyeing that one since it came out. I’m currently reading the Jennifer Weiner, and I guess you could say I’m also reading Five Summers, though I made it through the epilogue before I got distracted by another book. I think it’ll be a fun one, though. I love summer books!

I also got a few books in the mail:

20140703_075148

I’ll bet you all a million dollars that the motherhood one was sent by Diana Davidson, a local author who wrote the amazing Pilgrimage, a book that starts out with a birth that kind of terrified me since I read it while pregnant. She also has a story about postpartum depression in the 40 Below anthology of stories — my favourite story of the bunch!

On the Road to Find Out was sent by Raincoast Books — thanks, guys!

How was your month? Have you read anything good lately?

signature-01

10 thoughts on “June

  1. I have Telling Truths as well and yes it was Diana!

    I’m interested to hear what you think of the Jennifer Weiner. I read Good in Bed many many years ago and wasn’t that into it, but, I love the author’s Twitter persona and fo course anyone who gets into a public squabble with Franzen is good in my books!

    • I used to read Jennifer Weiner’s books a LOT back in the day but haven’t read her past 3 or 4 books, I think. This one sounded really interesting and I happened upon it at Costco, so I figured why not?

  2. I’m so glad you’re finding the fun in blogging again! I also used to be a super scheduler with posts, but now I’m trying to get away with that-it’s hard though! I do have some very rough drafts put together for features, but I only have on that’s totally finished and ready to go, and that’s ok 🙂

  3. Ugh ignore the last comment it was supposed to be way longer dunno why it ddin’t post it all (glad I copy pasted it bc of blogger eating my comment habit! :P)

    Omg you’re one book behind! haha you would totally die if you saw mine at like 15 or 16 behind. Woops! (removed face bc may be the culprit) And oooh Five Summer!! That one sounds like the perfect beach read! And your lil one looks adorable! I love it when they start to discover things! >.<

    • I’m not sure I could handle 15 or 16 behind! Ha ha … though I think it stresses me slightly because I only challenged myself to read 100 books this year and I still haven’t hit 50. It’s a new experience, that’s for sure!

  4. Awww you know he’s a good ‘un if he loves dogs and reading!! That is just SO sweet.

    And hey, 3 books is nothing to sneeze at with all that you got going on! I’m pretty sure you’ll get right back on track with your Goodreads Challenge in no time. I also had to put CoHF on hold for a bit because I was having a hard time getting into it for some reason, but I’ve started reading it again and am enjoying it more!

    • I think City of Heavenly Fire is moving a little too slow right now, but I know it’ll pick up … I’m determined to finish that one next!

      And yes, he LOOOOOVES the dogs. They’re not so sure about him, especially since he just keeps getting more and more mobile, but hopefully they’ll like him soon. 🙂

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

