Semi-Charmed Life {Weekend Reading}

AllFallDownOne of my favourite Canadian authors is Catherine McKenzie, who is from Montreal. The first book I read by her was Spin, a book about a reporter who goes into rehab to spy on a hot celebrity and eventually write an expose on her. The great thing about that book (aside from it being a cross between Sex and the City and Bridget Jones’s Diary) is that it’s quite charming for a book about rehab. There are friendships formed and some major growth of a character who thinks that she doesn’t have a problem, when she actually really does.

All Fall Down is my read of the weekend (though, in truth I’ve been reading it all week) and it kind of reminds me of Spin. I don’t know why I feel so drawn to books about drug addiction, but I am, and really, they can be such a whirlwind, making me wonder how people can do such a thing like abuse drugs, when I know that it’s something that happens every day. Usually unknowing to the person who’s doing it.

I think that’s why I’m enjoying this book so far. It’s like a trip down the rabbit hole, watching the main character, Allison, just get further and further into her problem of drug addiction. It’s like watching a car that starts off easy on the highway start to accelerate and you’re just waiting for the crash.

It’s been a while since I’ve read a Jennifer Weiner book, but I can say that I’m enjoying this one! I’ll have to make a point of checking out some of her books that I’ve missed in the past few years. It’s a definite departure from some of her first books, like Good in Bed, or Little Earthquakes, but it’s kind of a welcome departure. I can definitely see that she’s grown as an author.

So, in the end, if you liked Spin, you’ll probably enjoy this one. Alternatively, I think if you like this one, you’ll probably enjoy Spin. It’s a win-win either way.

A note on the post title: Did you know that the song Semi-Charmed Life by Third Eye Blind was a song about drug addiction? I remember listening to that song a lot, what with growing up in the 90s, but I had no clue! “I want something else to get me through this semi-charmed kind of life.Like the source page for this info says, “sometimes the simplest statements can be the most profound.”

Have you read this book? What about Spin? Do you have any favourite books on drug addiction? 

signature-01

9 thoughts on “Semi-Charmed Life {Weekend Reading}

  1. Drugs? Books? 90s music? This post is right up my alley 🙂

    My favourite books about drug addiction are probably anything by Irvine Welsh (Trainspotting etc.) Have you read Rachel`s Holiday by Marian Keyes? That’s a good one, and sounds similar to the ones you mention here.

    I am back and forth on whether I want to read All Fall Down. I really enjoy the author on Twitter, but I have bad memories of Good in Bed and thinking it was just so boring.

    And yeah I knew Semi-Charmed was about drugs, because of that one line you can actually make out (“and I bumped again, I bumped again”) but I went and read the lyrics and like every line is about drugs. You just can’t understand what the heck he’s saying and in 1997 you couldn’t just google lyrics haha.

    • I haven’t read Rachel’s Holiday, but I do have it … no idea it was about drug addiction! I like to just dive into books without knowing what they’re about, so that wouldve surprised me since I figured it was just a run of the mill chick lit novel.

      I liked Jennifer’s books way back when but haven’t read the last 3, I think? This one seems a little more serious? It’s definitely a fast read (which I’ve been reading for over a week, but if I could sit down and read it, it would go by fast!). There are parts I don’t like, but meh. It’s not bad!

      I was a definite naive child in the 90s so I would have no idea! I know this was one of those Top 40 songs, so my one brother always listened to it. I might actually have it one the computer … I should give it a listen and actually pay attention to the lyrics!

  2. I love that song but I had no idea it was about drugs! I want to blame no access to google back in the day on this one, but my husband says he knew from the time the song came out. But then he also says, most songs are about drugs or suicide…(haha?).

    I’ve only read In Her Shoes by Weiner and I really liked that one. I own a few of her other books but just haven’t gotten around to reading them. This new one sounds really intriguing tho – I will keep my eye out at Value Village for it (her books are ALWAYS there ;))

    • I would’ve had NO clue. I was still finding myself musically in the 90s, so I’m pretty sure that Mariah Carey didn’t write songs about drug abuse and addiction then … I LOVED singing her stuff in the closet with the stereo blasting. I’m so happy I’ve grown in my musical preferences …

      That’s funny that her books are always at Value Village! What does that say about them? Well worth the read but not of a reread? I will admit, I rarely reread chick lit, but I will reread YA romances. Ha.

      • It’s pretty much a given that you can find one of her books or any number of Jodi Piccoult books at Value Village at any given time….I used to think the same thing, the books not worth a reread or shelf space end up there, but then I’m always amazed by the best sellers that are also on the shelves. I just think there are lots of (crazy) people out there who buy new books, read them and then donate them! I’ve learnt over the years that most of the popular books on my wish-list can always be found at Value Village.

    • Which one? Jennifer Weiner? Either way, both authors are great. Jennifer’s books have really evolved over the year and Catherine McKenzie just keeps getting better and better! Hope you can try them one day. 🙂

  3. Pingback: July | Reading In Winter

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

