This Post is {Kind Of} Brought To You By The Letter … Q

So I kind of love memes. But I suck when it comes to participating in them. I’m sure I’m not the only one, but I’ll start off with a few weeks participating in a weekly meme, then slowly drop to every other week, then monthly, and then it just drops off the blog.

Oops.

But there is the odd meme that happens occasionally, like this one over on Trish’s blog, Love, Laughter, and a Touch of Insanity, originally started by Simon at Stuck in a Book. When I read her post I thought it would be a lot of fun to participate!

Until Trish told me what letters I could pick from — O, F, or Q — and, like a moron, I picked Q.

I never said I didn’t like challenging myself!

So, here we go … you’ll notice I’ve tweaked a few things. 😉

Favourite book that starts with the letter Q: 

I’m cheating slightly with this one because I did read a book that had an original title starting with Q, but the title everyone knows it by doesn’t, so I’m going to use that one:

slumdog millionaire

Did you know that the original title for Slumdog Millionaire by Vikas Swarup was Q&A? I’m definitely cheating since the book *I* had read was titled Slumdog Millionaire, but there are, like, 10 books that start with the letter Q, so I think I did pretty good! This is one of my favourite books I’ve read. I read it before I started book blogging, so I never did write a review for it, but if you ever tell me that the movie is good, I’ll probably bitch at you until you change your mind since the book is a million times better. I hated what they did to the movie, but was completely engrossed for the entire book. It was amazing! If you haven’t watched the movie, or if it’s on your list to watch, I highly recommend reading the book first.

The author I would like to read who’s name starts with Q:

love letters of the angels of death another little piece

This one goes to local author Jennifer Quist! My blogging buddy, Laura, has read her book Love Letters Of the Angels of Death and really enjoyed it. I think it looks fantastic, so I hope to give it a go one day!

There’s also Kate Karyus Quinn who wrote Another Piece of My Heart, which looks super spooky.

Favourite song with the letter Q: 

This one is a toss up between Queen of the Prom by Terami Hirsch, and [If I Were] Queen by My Brightest Diamond.

Favourite film starting with Q: 

Definitely Quills, which stars my favourite actor, Geoffrey Rush! It’s a movie about the Marquis de Sade who, among other things, was an erotic writer and was quite … er … graphic in his stories. Rush does an amazing job of playing this character (as usual, since he’s a great actor!). It also stars Kate Winslet, Joaquin Phoenix, and Michael Cain.

Favourite object that starts with Q:

This one was hard! Is food an object? If yes, then I like quinoa and Quaker oats! I also like quilts, though I don’t actually have one. I’m cold ALL the time, so anything that keeps me warm is a win! I also like quarters because money is useful. 😉

What are your favourite Q things? Want to play along? Let me know in the comments and I’ll assign you a random letter!  

signature-01

13 thoughts on “This Post is {Kind Of} Brought To You By The Letter … Q

  1. Ahhh I loved Q & A and immediately thought of it when I saw your post title 🙂 I read Q & A when it first came out and even own it in hardcover. I do have to say that I remember loving the movie, but I do agree that the book is waaaaay better. I have another book on my shelf by the same author – Six Suspects, but I haven’t read it yet. Have you?

  2. This looks really fun, I love to play. I don’t think I like anything with the letter Q. I want to read Forgive me Leonard Peacock by Matthew Quick and Quiet: The Power of Introverts in a World That Can’t Stop Talking by Susan Cain.

  3. You are awesome!! By the time I got a third tough letter I finally decided to just let you pick. You did great. I definitely think food counts as an object (since I used ice cream), but you need to get yourself a quilt! Maybe a new hobby? 😉 Thanks for playing along.

  4. Haha I was like S IS NOT A Q!! I had no idea that book was Q&A O_O And WOOT for Another Little Piece! I loved that one and I also loved her most recent one which you have to read as well if you haven’t! Oh and barf on quinoa! I tried it and nope, not for moi >.<

    • Ha ha … it’s not for everyone! And it really has to be prepared properly, too!

      I will definitely try to read Another Little Piece soon! I’ve heard really good things about it. 🙂

  5. Oh please read Love Letters! I want to talk to someone about it. It’s super under-appreciated, though Jennifer Quist did just win an award, so maybe that will change.

  6. Pingback: July | Reading In Winter

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

