{Three’s a Crowd} One Rogue Too Many (Rival Rogues, #1) by Samantha Grace

one rogue too manyThis was fun! It’s been a while since I’ve read an historical romance — and you can say I’ve been spoiled by Tessa Dare and all of her awesome books — but this one had me hooked. I started it during the babe’s naptime on Saturday and finished it during his naptime on Sunday. I’d say that it’s been a long time since I binge read something that fast, but I just did the same thing with Miranda Kenneally’s book this week. Two books in one week!

I can always, always count on an historical romance book catching my interest, especially when I want something that’s light and quick, full of intrigue and romance, as well as headstrong (though slightly swoony) women and sexy men. Who wants something too serious on the weekend?

While the main character, Gabby, was a little insufferable at times, I did like her as a main character. She did do some really stupid things (Did they not know how to talk about issues back then? Rather than talk, you just live with what you did wrong? Weird.) but a few really smart things. Even though there were times that she irked me, by the end of the book I was so happy for what she had done for her suitor. Plus I loved seeing her interact with her brothers and sisters.

Like I said in the title of this post, three is a crowd — especially when it comes to the main men of the book, Ellis and Thorne. It was fun seeing the two compete with one another and I was definitely pulling for one of them. One was a little hard with his softness starting to shine through (he also had a bit of naïveté to him) and the other one was just a bit slimy, but he did have issues from the past to work through, so he was just slightly likeable.

Notice how I didn’t mention who was who there? Tricky, tricky …

It’s also funny that I love a good book like this since when it comes to YA reading (which I do a lot of) I actually hate love triangles and this one is just so, so obvious. But it’s what I’ve come to expect from love stories like this one. Maybe it’s just the day and age the story takes place, too.

At any rate, this was a very fast paced historical romance, perfect for a weekend read. I love that it was fun, but also had some wonderful romance. It might not chalk up to be my favourite of the genre, but it still had me entranced the whole way. And it was the perfect book to cozy up with on this sunny weekend!

Thank you to Sourcebooks Casablanca and NetGalley for sending me a review copy of this book! 

goodreads-badge-add-plus-d700d4d3e3c0b346066731ac07b7fe47

Have you read this book? Do you read historical romances? 

signature-01

3 thoughts on “{Three’s a Crowd} One Rogue Too Many (Rival Rogues, #1) by Samantha Grace

  1. Within the last year, I got over myself and started reading romances. Historical romances are my favorite. I’m loving Dare’s Spindle Cove series right now. This series sounds good too.

    • They’re so fun, aren’t they? I’ve decided I don’t care what I read … as long as I’m reading that’s awesome! I have a lot less time TO read so I might as well enjoy it, right? I’m so happy you’re loving Tessa’s series! It’s sooooo good!

  2. Pingback: July | Reading In Winter

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

