{A Little Tea Love} Tea Cabinet Transformation

Without a doubt, I’m a tea lover. I hope you caught my tea story the other day, where I waxed on about my love of tea and how it’s grown over the years. After hosting a tea party at my house the other weekend, I was inspired to clean up my tea drawer and package my teas in a way that would have me actually drinking a variety of them, rather than just reaching for the closest one without a thought.

However, this was the mess I had to work with.

TeaMessBefore

See how tiny that drawer is? No wonder I was just reaching for the closest thing! Not only that, but that box held even more tea, some coffee, and other beverages, and had a less-than-handy home in the cupboard on the opposite side of the kitchen. I needed a better system!

After a trip to Dollarama (seriously, best store ever!) and about $30 later, I had containers and baskets and labels. The baby had just gone down for a nap, so it was time to turn on the tunes and work on organizing my teas.

I decided the best thing to do would be to comandeer the “baking” cabinet because the majority of items in it were expired and we had plenty of other space to keep things. In fact, I had moved a bread box we used to use for bread that was delegated to the basement back to the counter and realized that was the perfect place to use baking or cooking things I use all the time, like cocoa, vanilla, baking soda & powder, and whatnot. Finally I had a use for it! I also had an excess of containers that I decided to book baking supplies in like chocolate chips, dried fruits, and nuts. All of that got put in another cupboard and my cooking oils were now delegated to the box and placed in the opposite side of the kitchen, since I don’t use the majority of them all of the time.

That left me with a beautiful empty cupboard right above the Keurig, which I use for hot water. After a little bit of elbow grease scrubbing the cupboard clean, then a little more effort organizing and labeling, I had a much better use of the cupboard.

Behold the transformation!

BeforeAndAfterTeaCabinet

SO much better! I took a few extra pictures so you can see what’s in the baskets and how it’s all organized.

TeaShelfAfter TeaShelfAfter2

The top shelf is where I keep my K-cups (lots of coffee, a few teas, and some specialty drinks — none of which I use all the time); a basket of various random tea bags, cider, coffee, hot chocolate, and; my tea pots and presses.

Now, the only problem will be keeping it organized! I’m expecting an order of Steeped Tea to come in this week aaaaand I may have indulged and bought some more David’s Tea and a few teacups. It’s an obsession, I tell you! Though I guess when it comes to being addicted to something, tea isn’t that bad. Add that to my book addiction and I’m pretty normal!

PS – I apologize for the lack of pretty pictures. Our kitchen doesn’t get a lot of light as it is, and the cupboard doesn’t face a window so there are ALWAYS shadows. It looks so much nicer in person!

Lyrics: I know it doesn’t seem like it, but “tea in the morning” is from one of my favourite Tori Amos covers That’s What I Like Mick. Not a HUGE mention about tea, but do you know how hard it is to find song lyrics about tea?!?

How do you organize your teas? 

signature-01

11 thoughts on “{A Little Tea Love} Tea Cabinet Transformation

  1. It always feels so good to organize something! I recently (with my son’s help) organized the junk drawer. Yes, hilarious, right? But even a junk drawer needs order. Thanks for sharing!

  2. You can’t see me right now, but I have hearts in my eyes taking in your vast collection of teas and organization of them! I don’t have nearly as much tea as you do (seriously so jealous!), but I would really love to organize them better like you have! I also loved your tea story from the other day, by the way!

    • The lady who did my tea party has a rubbermade bin that’s organizing her teas. That was my inspiration! That’d probably be my next option if I didn’t have the kitchen space. And I’m pretty sure Ambur has a rubbermade bin, too!

  3. Looks great! What’s in the drawer now? Organizing my walk-in pantry is on my mile-long list of things to do. I even bought a label maker for the project lol! Are you able to get through all your tea before it goes bad? I find I’m always throwing out tea 😦

    • I’ve moved the baking stuff — rolling pin, measuring cups, etc. — into that drawer for across the kitchen and put LO’s stuff — bibs, bowls, spoons, etc. — in THAT drawer since it was just on the counter. And yeah, I drink a lot of tea, so I go through it pretty fast! I also don’t order really big containers of it, so it’s easy to get through. Also, if you make sure they’re kept in the dark, in sealed tight containers, they usually last a long time!

      My next project is the basement … We moved part of a hutch downstairs to make LO’s playroom, as well as a lot of dishes and whatnot. I have to organize it all in the basement! It’s all just on the floor now.

  4. Pingback: July | Reading In Winter

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

