{Book Reviews} The Runaway Bride & A Bride Fit For a King

Remember how I was completely smitten with my new romance series that I just had to continue reading them? Mission accomplished! I was approved for the first four ARCs in the Year of Wedding series, by various Christian authors, and spent about 3 days working my way through them. Dare I say they helped me get my reading mojo back?

Not only that, but I have been completely sucking when it comes to review book reading — especially the digital ones — so these, as well as my historical romance read last weekend, got my butt back in gear with that as well! Already I’m reading a contemporary by Sara Zarr that I had wanted to read late last year but put on the back burner. Let’s hope the momentum continues!

Thank you to Zondervan and NetGalley for sending me a copy of these books for review! 

a february brideA February Bride (A Year of Weddings, #3) by Betsy St. Amant

Still riding the rollercoaster of wedding books, I immediately dove into the third book in the series, pretty much right after I wrote my last review. I just can’t get enough! And those covers are definitely enough to make me want these books for my shelves. I love how streamlined they are!

This book was a little different from the previous two. While at first we had people who used to be friends falling in love, then two strangers falling in love, this story had to do with Allie who had already found love — then immediately ran away from it at the altar out of fear. Coud she find love again?

I have to admit that I had a hard time connecting with Allie in this story since I didn’t run away at the altar. Also, I found it hard to connect with her family situation since mine is the complete opposite. But I did really feel for her. I can only imagine how hard it would be to really trust in yourself and go with your feelings when it comes to love when you come from a family like hers.

Allie was a hard character for me to like at first, but I loved watching her change as the story went on. Then there was Marcus — the man she was supposed to marry. This is where the story is so much different from the first two. Marcus is the man she left at the altar, but her feelings still linger. Something in her gut tells her that she wants to be with him.

The religious slant in this book was a little bit heavier, but I felt that Allie really needed that. I also loved that she had Hannah in this book — now that is the testament of a true friend, someone who sticks by you even if you ditched their brother at the altar. It was nice to see that Hannah still had faith in her friend that she would make the right decision.

Another fun installment in the series of wedding books! I had a great time getting to know Allie and Marcus.

goodreads-badge-add-plus-d700d4d3e3c0b346066731ac07b7fe47

a march brideA March Bride (A Year of Weddings, #4) by Rachel Hauck

Since the past weekend where I rekindled my love for historical romances, I’ve been itching to read my next one. Right off the bat when I started this installment of the Year of Weddings series, I was convinced that I had gotten my wish!

Unfortunately, it wasn’t a historical romance, but more of a modern day fairytale. Bonus! Susanna and King Nicholas have fallen in love and are to be married, but the only caveat is that she’s an American and will have to change citizenship before she marries. The whole idea of this story is about remembering who YOU are and that while where you come from is important, it’s not what defines you.

Oh, and there’s romance, too.

This was such a sweet story and reminded me of all those princess-y movies I love watching, those fish-out-of-water shows, where the prince or princess is removed from their kingdom and has to live a normal life, or the stories of a normal girl turned princess. I really loved Nicholas in this story. He was gung ho about marrying Susanna and he wouldn’t let anyone fight him on it! It was fun seeing him step outside of his kingdom and all the paparazzi to be with her and show her how much he cared.

It’s been a while since I’ve read a Rachel Hauck book, my favourite being The Wedding Dress. Clearly she knows what she’s doing when she writes wedding stories! Susanna was very likable and I could really sense her mood when it came to her dilemma. Being a huge lover of Canada and a proud Canadian, I would also feel torn if it came between true love and my citizenship. But then, what defines home? Is it where you come from? Your country? A person? Or where you’ve put your roots now? Is the idea of home something that can change over time?

When I first heard of this series, this was the book that I was most excited about and I’m happy to have finally gotten to it! Rachel Hauck is a beautiful writer and I can’t wait to see if she has more wedding books in store for her readers in the future.

(As a sidenote: Speaking of citizenship, did you know that there’s a Canadian bobsleigh athlete also named Rachel Hauck? She’s from Ontario! I wonder if she’s a fan of Christian romance?)

goodreads-badge-add-plus-d700d4d3e3c0b346066731ac07b7fe47

Are you a Christian fiction fan? What are some of your favourite wedding books? Have you ever fallen hard for a series right from book one?

signature-01

3 thoughts on “{Book Reviews} The Runaway Bride & A Bride Fit For a King

  1. Pingback: July | Reading In Winter

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

