And speaking of Pride & Prejudice …

pride and prejudiceYesterday’s realization that the historical romance I read on the weekend was written by one of writers for The Lizzie Bennett Diaries had me thinking about my love of a certain classic novel that the YouTube series was based on, so I thought it would be fun to write a post about my love of one very famous novel.

Pride & Prejudice. ย 

Can you believe that it wasn’t until last year that I read Jane Austen’s classic, Pride & Prejudice? I had actually attended university as an English minor and the one class that I dropped was classics in the 1800s. With HUGE books on the reading list, I knew that I just wasn’t going to have the time, so I dropped it in favour of some of the more modern 1900 classics and children’s literature.

I mean, I like to read, but back then I wasn’t such a devourer of books — especially when I still had readings to do for other classes.

It wasn’t until The Lizzie Bennett Diaries came on YouTube that I decided that I had to drop everything and read the book that started it all. And really, I wasn’t even one of the first people to watch The Lizzie Bennett Diaries. I had seen it mentioned all over Twitter and Facebook as it was playing and for some reason I assumed that it had to do with a teeny-bopper musician or something, so I just glossed over any reference. Then the lovely Anne, over at Creativity’s Corner, pointed out that I had to watch it and what was wrong with me that I wasn’t?

OK, maybe she was nicer than that, but still. I had to get on it!

Start watching The Lizzie Bennett Diaries here:ย 

 

pride-and-prejudice-movieAlmost immediately, I fell in love. The actors were amazing and the story kept me wanting more! I came in late in the game, so I binge-watched most of it and once I was partway through I decided I had to read the classic. And after THAT, I made sure I rented the 6-hour miniseries staring Colin Firth from the library and promptly watched it in an afternoon, falling in love all over again.

After that I was hooked.

Now, I find myself seeking out more modern day adaptations of the story in both book and film format. I still have a ways to go, but I can see myself watching and reading this classic over and over again. What is it about Mr. Darcy that keeps me coming back?

All I can think of right now is that it’s my love of romance that has me coming back to this great story. I’ve always been one to search for the romance — real romance — in a story, not the instalove garbage you see in books these days. I want people to be wooed, I want pretty dresses, I want men dressing up, I want flowers, I want butlers, I want horses, I want lakes (for men to fall in, of course), and I want love. Love, love, love.

And really, when it comes to swoon-worthy love, is there anything better than Pride & Prejudice?

Are you a fan of Pride & Prejudice? What are your favourite adaptations?ย 

signature-01

11 thoughts on “And speaking of Pride & Prejudice …

  1. Ahhh can you believe I’ve never actually read P & P?! Ok, it’s not that hard to believe lol. I’ve also only seen the one film adaptation of it – the one Kiera Knightly is in (I think!?). But it’s a book I keep *meaning* to read, but just never do. Must change this soon! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • You’ve never read it?!?!? You have to! I loved it. I think I’m due for a reread soon. Though, I still haven’t seen the Kiera Knightly adaptation … I’ll have to soon!

  2. Have you read Persuasion? IMO so much better than P&P.

    I actually really like the Kiera Knightley P&P adaptation. I think what’s his name is a better Darcy than Colin Firth. I know, I know! How dare I? ๐Ÿ™‚

    • I haven’t! Though I swear I just saw an adaptation of Persuasion … I think it was in a Simon & Schuster newsletter. I do hope to read more of Jane Austen … I’m just stuck on this one!

      And yeah. I’m not sure if we can be friends anymore if you don’t think Colin Firth is the best Darcy. For shame!

  3. My favorite Jane Austen is Sense & Sensibility,, but I’ve read & loved Pride & Prejudice.. The 1995 adaption is definitely my favorite. I watched the Laurence Olivier one a few weeks ago. NOT AS GOOD! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Is that the original miniseries? I’ll have to make note of that! This is the only Jane Austen I’ve read, so I really should try another one! Does Sense & Sensibility have another Mr Darcy-ish character?

      • The 1940 version is the original movie, as far as I know. Not a miniseries though. It doesn’t really follow the novel well, & it’s melodramatic, so I didn’t like it. Many people do though!

        Sense & Sensibility doesn’t have a Mr. Darcy, but it has an Edward Ferrars and a Colonel Brandon! ๐Ÿ™‚ Here’s a taste of Colonel Brandon. ๐Ÿ™‚

      • Ooh … I’m going to have to read that one. I bought a huge Jane Austen anthology and have to read a classic for my Book Bingo, so I think I’ve found my book! Thanks for the recommendation. ๐Ÿ™‚

      • (I’m assuming you know the 1995 version of Pride & Prejudice is the Colin Firth one? I can’t tell if you were asking if the 1995 one or the Laurence Olivier one was the original miniseries? The Laurence Olivier one is the 1940 version, which I think was the first film adaption.)

      • Oh, okay! I think I read something somewhere about an original BBC miniseries before the Colin Firth one. At any rate, I might save the Laurence Olivier one for last! Ha ha …

  4. Pingback: July | Reading In Winter

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

