{A Little Tea Love} Earl Grey Tea Cookies

It’s no secret that I love my tea. While I seem to have more loose tea than I can shake a fist at (which never seems to stop me from buying more) some of the tea bags I used to use have gone neglected in the cupboard. But that doesn’t mean they can’t be used!

I came across this recipe for Earl Grey Tea cookies before I had my tea party last month. I wanted something that would be perfect to be served with tea and these fit the bill perfectly! They’re also so simple to prepare that it takes barely any time at all. They’re great when you need something quick!

EarlGreyTeaCookies

I had to modify the recipe slightly since I never have some of the ingredients called for, but they still taste amazing.

Earl Grey Tea Cookies
Adapted from Oleander and Palm

1 cup margarine
2/3 cup powdered sugar
2 tsp. vanilla
4 Earl Grey teabags (cut open, tea removed)
1 3/4 cup flour

Preheat oven to 350.

Cream margarine and powdered sugar together. Add in vanilla and tea leaves. Add flour and stir until mixed. Wrap in plastic wrap and refrigerate for a half hour.

From here you can either roll out the dough and cut into shapes with cookie cutters. Alternatively, you could also wrap the dough in plastic wrap as a log and just cut out rounds. I kind of preferred the latter, since the dough kept sticking, despite the fact that the counter was well floured.

Place on a baking sheet lined with parchment paper and chill in refrigerator for 20 minutes before baking. Bake for 12 minutes and cool on a wire rack.

These do keep really well in an airtight container, but I find they never last more than a few days. They’re wonderful!

Do you use tea for cooking? Any good recipe suggestions?

signature-01

10 thoughts on “{A Little Tea Love} Earl Grey Tea Cookies

  1. Pingback: {A Little Tea Love} Dark Chocolate Chai Infused Scones | Reading In Winter

  2. Pingback: {A Little Tea Love} Dark Chocolate Chai Sugar Cookies | Reading In Winter

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

