{Book Review} See, this is why I don’t like cats …

bedding lord nedWe used to have a cat named Jazz. She wasn’t a terrible cat, really. She was very well behaved and playful and didn’t shed too much, but she had this one really bad habit:

She’d steal things.

Not large things, but if I left something like a pair of earrings or a hair tie, or even candy on the table, she’d immediately grab it up if I wasn’t looking and take off with it. She’d even take the wrappers off of Hershey’s Kisses and leave the chocolate on the floor for the dogs to find. I can’t even count how many times I lost earrings never to see them again!

Unfortunately, she ran away last year (maybe our stuff didn’t interest her anymore?) so our stuff now stays put. Our other cat isn’t nearly as interested in things, so now I can put out candy on the table at Christmas like a normal person without the cat wandering off with it or leaving it on the floor in an attempt to get the dogs sick, but still.

Bedding Lord Ned by Sally Mackenzie reminded me so much of Jazz because the cat in it, Sir Reginald, is a huge troublemaker. Really, his owners the Duke and Duchess of Love, seem to make it easy for him by having a pathway through the house so he can rummage through their houseguests things. His only problem is that he deposits these things in one place, Ned’s room, which is really unfortunate if the thing the cat took was a pair of your silky red underpants and you really are in love with Ned.

I mean, nothing would make a conversation more awkward than that, right?

This was definitely a fun book, though I feel like I say that about all the historical romances I read. In truth, I had been reading a book before this one while on vacation and I just couldn’t get into it. The characters didn’t seem to have very much life to them and I was struggling from page to page. This one, however, had me from page one. I knew I was going to like Ellie, Ned, the Duchess of Love, and everyone else thrown at me. I mean, even the most boring person in the story was fun to read!

I also really liked the setting of the story, a weekend party for Ned’s birthday (who was born on Valentine’s Day) which turns into a matchmaking weekend for his mother. But really, she’s trying to hook Ned up. Everything that happened was fun. There was a treasure hunt, skating, sleigh rides … and plenty of shenanigans.

The only real issue I had with the story were those damn read underpants. They were mentioned far too much. Shouldn’t Ned be thinking of other things instead of underpants when he’s thinking of a woman? There’s also the fact that Ellie wears a different coloured dress than the one that’s on the cover. I think that would’ve made for a fun cover! Oh, and there was also a bit of awkward romance in the ending, but I’ll take what I can get. There was some fun stuff between the Duke and Duchess, if you catch my drift. *wink wink*

Other than that, though, this was super fun and I can’t wait to read how the Duchess of Love matches her other two sons. It was great that we met them in this book and got to know them a bit. I think the next book, Ash’s story, will be really good!

signature-01

6 thoughts on “{Book Review} See, this is why I don’t like cats …

  1. Love this review-great story about Jazz 🙂 I just wrote the name of this book down and I’m going to look for it the next time I go to the library! Sounds like a really fun read 🙂

  2. Haha, Jazz sounds like an awesome cat! I had a cat growing up named James Bond and he would do mischievous things like that too. I’m not a cat person by any means, but I definitely get a kick out of their antics. This book sounds cute – I should really give something like this a try when I need a nice, easy read.

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

