Because when it comes to reading physical books again, it’s go big or go home.

Drums of AutumnReally, I blame Outlander.

Have you seen the TV show? I caught the first episode and watched it no less than three times in two days (I plan to talk more about that in a future post!) and promptly wanted to read ALL the Outlander books again.

Of course, they’re all about 1,000 pages long each, so that’s no small feat. I decided instead of starting at the beginning again (since I’ve read Outlander about 4 times already), I’d start where I left off.

I can’t remember when I started reading Drums of Autumn, the fourth book in the Outlander series, but it was a while ago. I also can’t remember why I put it down, but I think it had something to do with it being a good 1,000 pages long and I didn’t have a lot of time to read big chunks at once. Feeling like I was getting nowhere, I thought I’d read a shorter book while reading this one. Then again. And again. And then it was put on the shelf.

The sad thing is that when I found the book in my bedside table — the place where I put abandoned books that I’m certain I’ll return to soon — I was a good halfway or so through. When the book is huge that’s a BIG accomplishment. Sadly, though, I had no idea what was going on, so I had to start all over again.

In the past while, I’ve ONLY read e-books, you know, with my new love affair with my ereader and all. Thirteen books on a tiny little Kindle that weighs barely anything. So starting back into physical books right now — or, at least, one physical book for the moment — seemed like the right thing to do. I promptly dove into Drums of Autumn at bedtime last night.

And woke up with a sore wrist because that book is a CLUNKER.

I mean, really, it’s go big or go home when you read physical books, right? I couldn’t have it be a novella or anything. Isn’t this the reason people get ereaders, so that they don’t get carpal tunnel syndrome holding a book? And I’m sure this will take me no less than at least two weeks to read. Just when I assumed that reading would be all well and good with having a baby (which it really has been) I dive into a book where it takes me at least an hour to read 25 pages, therefore making me feel like I’m making no progress at all.

So, in the end, it’s Diana Gabaldon’s fault — as well as Sam Heughan’s, the actor who plays Jamie Fraser. I will suffer the consequences of reading a ginormous book if it means I get to spend time with my top book boyfriend again. Anything to tide me over until the next episode is aired!

PS – I’d like to say that that’s a good cup of Scotch or Whiskey in the photo, but sadly, it’s just tea, which I guess is an English thing and Claire is English, but it’s iced fruit tea, which I’m sure the English would hate. I’m pretty sure I would be kicked out of England for drinking it. You can’t say I didn’t try. 

signature-01

20 thoughts on “Because when it comes to reading physical books again, it’s go big or go home.

  1. I really, really, really like reading big books though 😉 I also watched the show, only once though. I really need to continue on with this series. I’ve still only read the first one, and I guess I technically listened to that one. lol

    I’m glad you’re getting back into it again! Sorry that you had to start all over on Drums of Winter though.

  2. I’m reading Outlander on my Kobo for this exact reason! I’m getting there… Kobo says I have 6 hours to go 🙂

    How did you watch the first episode already? Thought it started tomorrow? I don’t have Showcase so I don’t know when I’ll get to watch. But watch I will.

  3. I got a book in the mail the other day that I’m pretty sure is about that long; I think it’s even bigger than some of the college textbooks I had!

  4. How did you watch the first episode already?! Also, is it actually August already?! This means my plan to reread Outlander before the show starts is not working out very well 😉

    I laughed at your comment about abandoned books being kept in your end table – that’s where I keep mine too! Like one night I might be inclined to re-pick one of them up…hasn’t really happened yet. If anything, they just give me the evil eye every night and I feel guilty opening up my current read, haha!

    • It definitely is August! Ha ha … I had planned to reread it, too, but figured I should just carry on with the series. Maybe once it’s out on DVD then I’ll reread it and watch at the same time!

      I find that I’ll abandon book with the intention of starting where I left off, but that’s never the case. I always wait so long that I’ll have to just start at the beginning again!

  5. Ok, this post has finally convinced me to start this series-everyone and their mother says its awesome lol. I don’t like big books so I’ve been avoiding it solely because of the size, but maybe if I divide each book up to span a month, and read it alongside my other books (like 200 pages a week or something).

  6. Pingback: Weekly Recap| Aug 3-9, 2014 | Oh, the Books!

  7. That’s one great thing about e-readers. Doesn’t matter what size the book is, your device is still lightweight and comfortable to hold. I enlarge the fonts on my Kindle so I can more easily read it. Since I read on my treadmill, it’s a 100% better experience with a Kindle, as well, because turning the page while walking at a fast pace is a pain with traditional books. With a Kindle, it’s just a swipe!

    • Yes! Maybe that’s why I’ve been slacking on my running lately, since I can’t read my book while doing so! Also, your comment made me think that while it’s all good to read on the ereader, sometimes it’s nice to have that satisfaction of being able to see where you’re at in a big book. It’s one thing to watch along the bottom of your ereader, the progress you make, but it’s another to see where your bookmark is in a big book … feels like more of an accomplishment!

  8. Heh, I experienced this issue when my copy of City of Heavenly Fire arrived. It’s 725 pages and extremely heavy. Took me a long while to get through as a result! As for Outlander, I STILL need to read it, but I am very encouraged that you love the tv show so much!

    • I put City of Heavenly Fire aside for the moment, but will probably just have to start it afresh when I pick it up again. I was 100 or so pages in already! Now it feels like such a waste!

  9. Pingback: Weekly Recap| Aug 10-16, 2014 | Oh, the Books!

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

