#OutlanderWeek: New vs. Old Thoughts on the Book

Outlander Week

It’s day 2 for Outlander Week! Did you miss yesterday’s post? Follow the link below! Also, see what’s in store for the rest of the week!

Monday: What is Outlander?
Tuesday: New vs. Old Thoughts on the Books
Wednesday: The TV Show!
Thursday: Quote-Worthy
Friday: My Outlander Wishlist

outlanderToday I’m talking about my new thoughts on Outlander versus my old thoughts on Outlander. As far as I can remember, I’ve read the first book in this series about 4 times and have loved it each and every time. Whenever I start rereading it, it’s like reconnecting with an old friend and I can’t wait to reminisce on the good times.

And there are a LOT of good times to be had in Outlander!

But can you believe that I didn’t always feel so positive about some “good times” had in the book? I was reading an old review of a book in the series, Voyager, and I had this to say (don’t worry, it’s not a spoiler or anything):

“… it held my attention, had just the right amounts of love and action (though I could do without the very detailed “love” scenes) and still kept my intrigue to read farther into the series.”

Say what now?

Or, there’s my thoughts on the sex scenes in Outlander:

“Also, with the sex scenes, I didn’t find them to be that bad. Sure they’re no Harlequin novel, but I’ve read worse. Way worse. Case in point, I felt like I had been violated after reading the first book in the Sookie Stackhouse series. Enough so that I just can’t talk myself into reading the other 6 books in the box-set (this was a bad choice for the “series” books I was going for, but I digress.).”

You might all know that I am a closet romance addict. I love historical romances and YA romances and contemporary romances and new adult romances and basically anything where people are falling in love. Generally, this leads to people having sex and sometimes that can be some of the best stuff to read in a story!

When I started to think about examples of this, Jeaniene Frost’s Night Huntress series came to mind, where the sex scenes are very, very good. My only other example I can think of right now is Outlander, which is hilarious since I seemed to want to do without the sex scenes during my first read.

Now, I still feel violated over the sex scenes in the Sookie Stackhouse book and won’t continue that series, but I find that they just keep getting better and better in Outlander. That speaks a lot for the writing, that it makes me want to continue with the series, rather than put it down in distaste.

Of course, when I read that third book in the series, it was four years ago, so I guess a lot can change in four years. I mean, I even wrote THIS POST in favour of reading dirty books, wondering if we should feel embarrassed by reading them.

Obviously, I’m all for reading whatever the hell you want to. Reading is good.

Moving on.

I had actually first bought Outlander because I was addicted to series books — mainly, Twilight and House of Night. Of course I would buy something that is the complete opposite of those two series! There are no vampires in Outlander, no instalove, no teenage angst. Just an awesome love story, tons of action, and really great characters. I wrote in my first review of the story that I was taken aback by the fact that it was 850 pages long, but now as I read Drums of Autumn, which is 1,070 pages, I know that I just want it to keep going and going. I just bought A Breath of Snow and Ashes, the 7th book in the series, and it’s over 1,430 pages. That makes me excited! Clearly my outlook on big books has changed.

I’m pretty sure the whole of the House of Night series could fit into one volume of Outlander. This bodes well for fans of Diana Gabaldon’s series since there are eight books so far, so TONS of story to read! Just when it gets good, it keeps going, rather than YA books where that would be the cliffhanger for the next book (just one of my many pet peeves in YA books — the length!).

I was impressed with the fact that I wasn’t put off with some of the “bad” parts of Outlander upon my first read. There are beatings, rape, and murders, but I didn’t let it put me off because it was FICTION. There are also things that take place in Outlander that people might shake their head at, such as a lack of feminism and whatnot, but a lot of what happened in the story is what happened in that time period. You can’t expect characters to act like we do these days because a) it’s a different time, and b) it’s fiction. I think there are people out there who forget that the whole thing is a fictional tale, even if research is involved and a lot of the events actually took place.

I do think it’s great to see how things have changed between the 18th century and the 20th century because it is so different. That’s one thing that I love about these books. Jamie and Claire come from different times and they’re both learning as the story goes on — sometimes that learning takes a way too serious tone, and other times it’s absolutely hilarious. (Personally, I think it would be fun to see Jamie cross through the stones into Claire’s time, but I doubt that would happen.)

What hasn’t changed, though, is my overall love for the series. I still don’t want to reread Dragonfly in Amber because I know it’s super policital and that it took me FOREVER to get through, but the rest of the books that I’ve read? Love. I would love to go back and reread Outlander and Voyager, but for now I know I want to get through the rest of the series, since I’ve managed to do so spoiler free and I hope to keep it that way!

Have you read Outlander? Have your thoughts changed about the book(s) after a reread?

signature-01

15 thoughts on “#OutlanderWeek: New vs. Old Thoughts on the Book

  1. I have “reread” (listened) up through the sixth book and honestly, my views haven’t changed. I still love them now as much as I did when I first read them.

    I love your comments about the ‘bad’ parts. I know people who have completely let those things prevent them from enjoying the books and it makes me really sad!

    • That’s awesome! And I’m glad that you know what I’m talking about — it’s so hard to remember that that’s what it was like back then! If everything was so correct and proper in books, well, we might not enjoy them so much.

  2. “I still feel violated over the sex scenes in the Sookie Stackhouse book ” bahahaha oh man I was wondering if I was alone in that thought! Though I did read til like book 9 I think, but I hear it’s downhill from there so I kind of lost interest. Anyways this series is one I have been meaning to read since before I was even blogging ,dude! I haz to check it out!!!!

  3. I am going to reread it (been a few years) because I am trying to remember why it was I thought Frank/Black Jack was going to be the trickiest to cast. I think I had a small crush on Frank (I think they did cast him right–I love that guy from Rome). 🙂

    • I was always a Jamie fan … I could have done without Frank. Ha ha … I think it’s interesting to see the actor playing both Frank and Jack. It’s quite the difference in characters!

  4. Pingback: #OutlanderWeek: The TV Show! | Reading In Winter

  5. Pingback: #OutlanderWeek: Quote-Worthy | Reading In Winter

    • Yay! I can’t wait to reread it … AGAIN. I’m almost finished Drums of Autumn and I kind of want to dive into the next book soon … PLUS I bought some of the Lord John books! I’m a Diana Gabaldon fan girl!

  6. I’ve still only read the first book. I really need to read the rest of the series though because I really enjoyed it! The size might be slightly intimidating. 😛 I’m happy though because there is so much more left for me to enjoy!

    • Oh you should read more! I’m ONLY on the 4th book and still have 4 more books to go AND the Lord John series AND the Outlandish Companion AND the graphic novel … sooooo many things to enjoy!

  7. Pingback: #OutlanderWeek: My Outlander Wishlist! | Reading In Winter

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

