August (A.K.A. The Month that Diana Gabaldon Took Over My Soul)

august recap-01

Well hi there! It’s been a while!

A long LONG while!

Let’s just say that this past month seemed to be devoted to one thing: OUTLANDER!

Well, two things: Outlander and TEA!

This month I completely got addicted to the new Outlander show and have probably watched each episode about 1,203,049,399,828 times. It’s just THAT good. I also had Outlander Week on the blog. AND I was reading Drums of Autumn, the fourth book in the Outlander series.

So yeah. This was basically the month that Diana Gabaldon took over my soul. If you look at my books read (er, book – singular) AND the books I bought this month, you’ll see that I’m pretty much keeping her in business. OK, and maybe a few thousand other people, too.

August2014Pictures

Aside from Outlander, halfway through the month I signed up to be a Steeped Tea consultant! I had tried their teas in July and wanted to sign up then and there, but waited until I went to a Fall/Winter catalog show at my leader’s house. The next morning I signed up and so the rest of the month was devoted to lots of reading about tea and the business. It’s been SO much fun. I mean, on top of that, I get to DRINK lots of tea and try out our products! Nothing like tea and a book (or an awesome TV show) all in the sake of work. 🙂

And then there’s the boy — I can’t believe that he’s 9 months already! Seriously, where has the time gone? This month he’s been crawling TONS and is addicted to anything that moves. He loves anything on wheels and he absolutely ADORES the dogs. They’re not too sure about him, though. We’ve had fun this month with playdates and cuddling! We also had our first family trip, down to Calgary where we went to the zoo and the museum! Plus, it wouldn’t be a trip with the boy without seeing the dinosaur museum, too! It was a LOT of fun!

books read-01

I’d say my reading for this month has been pretty outstanding:

  1. Bedding Lord Ned (Duchess of Love, #1) by Sally MacKenzie
  2. Drums of Autumn (Outlander, #4) by Diana Gabaldon

I probably could’ve done better, but Drums of Autumn is a really long book. I had started it before and made it about 3/4 of the way through which definitely seemed impressive during the 8 days it took me to read that far just to catch up. I’m currently starting the fifth book in the series which is about 1,400 pages long. So you can expect me to be done in about a year or so. Ha ha …

mailbox goodies-01

This month I bought just a few books … A few I’ve read and a few I own (only one was bought accidentally …). I don’t think I intended to get so many books this month, but there you go. It happens!

August2014Books

From the Edmonton Public Library Books2Buy Sale: 

  1. Gold by Chris Cleave
  2. In the Land of Birdfishes by Rebecca Silver Slayter
  3. The Truth About Forever by Sarah Dessen (Already read it but the copy was in perfect condition! I couldn’t pass it up!)
  4. A Christmas Carol and Other Christmas Writings by Charles Dickens
  5. Little Women by Louisa May Alcott

From the Sherwood Park Library Book Sale: 

  1. The Shack by Wm. Paul Young
  2. Lord John and the Hand of Devils (Lord John Grey, #0.5, #1.5, #2.5) by Diana Gabaldon
  3. Lord John and the Brotherhood of the Blade (Lord John Grey, #2) by Diana Gabaldon
  4. The Fiery Cross (Outlander, #5) by Diana Gabaldon (I own this one in paperback — I bought the giant hardcover)

Other Books Bought: 

  1. Lord John and the Private Matter (Lord John Grey, #1) by Diana Gabaldon
  2. The Scottish Prisoner (Lord John Grey, #3) by Diana Gabaldon
  3. A Breath of Snow and Ashes (Outlander, #6) by Diana Gabaldon (Already own this one in paperback — oops)
  4. An Echo in the Bone (Outlander, #7) by Diana Gabaldon
  5. Written in My Own Heart’s Blood  (Outlander, #8) by Diana Gabaldon
  6. Isla and the Happily Ever After by Stephanie Perkins (one signed copy & one reading copy)
  7. The Hypnotist’s Love Story by Liane Moriarty
  8. The Secret Diary of Lizzie Bennet by Bernie Su and Kate Rorick
  9. Blue Notes by Carrie Lofty (Already DNF’d … sooo bad)

How was your month? Have you read anything good lately?

signature-01

6 thoughts on “August (A.K.A. The Month that Diana Gabaldon Took Over My Soul)

    • I’d hate to think what I’d say if I bought a LOT of books …

      They’re getting SO big! It’s so nuts seeing him moving around so much. He’s even started letting go of furniture here and there. He usually falls over, but he’s such a daredevil!

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

