Getting back into reading with a wicked case of “this is not that.”

If you’ve read my recent Twitter status, or saw last week’s post, you’ll see that I’ve got an addiction to get over. A TV addiction.

For 2.5 straight weeks, I watched Heartland from the first season to the end of the last season, all 122 episodes or so, all in order to catch up before the new season starts this upcoming weekend.

This isn’t the first time I’ve done this. Once I start a TV show and love it, I have a hard time concentrating on anything else, especially when it comes to books or other TV shows.

Remember that sickness that is the book hangover? Well, I have a TV hangover and while I’m trying to get over it by getting back into reading or catching up on other TV shows (I’m two weeks behind on Doctor Who!) all I can think about when I read is that what I’m reading is not Heartland. I go to bed and I dream about ranches and horses. I go running errands and I see horses in the fields and want to go ride them. I want to go search for Ty Borden or Jack Bartlett (which might not be too hard since some of these actors live in the province!).

It’s ridiculous, I tell you.

New reads

And with one of my new reads, Everything Leads to You by Nina LaCour, I’m reminded again about my current status since the story seems to revolve around a letter found at an estate sale for an actor who was most known for his cowboy roles. When the main character, Emi, talks about the buckles this actor had from sets, or watches Western movies, I’m reminded again about all the characters I fell in love with and once again am saddened that these characters aren’t those characters.

In other words, this is not that.

But I’m trying. I’m also rereading a favourite of mine, playing music, watching those TV shows I need to catch up on and trying not to think about the 2.5 weeks I spent glued to my TV during all my spare time.

I’ll get over it, I know. At least until the next TV show or book addiction comes along.

Have you suffered from book or TV hangovers? How do you get over them? 

signature-01

20 thoughts on “Getting back into reading with a wicked case of “this is not that.”

  1. That happened to me with The Gilmore Girls. Then I told myself I would never do that again. So far, so good, although I keep hearing about great shows and I know I would like them. It helps that I really don’t have the time anyway. Good luck with your hangover! 🙂

    • I still do that with Gimore Girls! I remember watching the whole series in about 2 weeks then I had to go back and watch it again. It was just so good! And I felt like it fed into the bookish world since Rory was a reader.

      I’m such a TV lover that I have to go back and forth. Usually I’ll save TV for evenings with the husband and I’ll read my books during the day, but sometimes it’s nice to have an old (or new!) favourite on when I’m doing something where I can’t read at the same time.

  2. I did this on mat leave (first time around – can’t do that with a 2 yr old dictating the TV sched) and watched like 4 seasons of Gossip Girl. Maybe I should count that as reading though, since I watched on mute with closed captions?

    I don’t get those hangovers often (just the usual slumps) and I think you just gotta give it time.

    • Ha ha … and to think some people think that listening to audiobooks isn’t reading! I’m not sure closed captions count …

      Time and just ease in slowly … take breaks if necessary. Incorporate other things back into life, like preparing actual food and watering the (now dead) plants.

  3. I still mourn characters when a book or TV series ends (Firefly anyone??), but then I take a step back and think, “If I never take the time to read a new book, or enjoy another TV series, how will I find my next loves?” And so it begins anew. I never stop missing the old ones, but I find it comforting that my “old favourites” list keeps getting longer

    • Such a good way of looking at it, Stephanie!! And it’s nice to go back and have those comforting shows. I still put on Gilmore Girls when I’m cooking or doing things in the kitchen. It’s one of those shows I can have on in the background, like a radio, and it fills up the quiet quite nice. 🙂

      I still haven’t seen Firefly! I think it’s on Netflix … I’ll have to check it out!

  4. I totally know how you feel. I am like that right now. I got obsessed with The Big Bang Theory and thats all thanks to #nerdmonth on TBS. I can’t seem to read cause the books DONT HAVE PENNY AND SHELDON AND LEONARD. 😦

    • I think it depends on the TV show for me … this one was really, really good and I just couldn’t stop!

      Loving Capaldi, as well. 🙂 The third episode looks super scary — I’m looking forward to it!

  5. This happens to me (and my husband) every time we finish an entire show. It happened most recently for me when I finished Friday Night Lights. I was so sad for like a week. Lost left us emotionally drained when we finished it, and when we finished Breaking Bad – I had a hard time not thinking about Jesse all day long. So to answer your questions, yes, I too suffer from TV hangovers. This doesn’t happen as often for me when I finish a book…so either I’m not reading the right books or I need to read more series??

    • Friday Night Lights is on my list to watch … I think the writer did Gilmore Girls, too? I’ll have to wait a bit … I hate the feeling of emptiness after binge show watching!

      I definitely think it happens more with series for me, especially since there are some series that I read all at once. But sometimes there’s that one book that really gets to me and I fly through it and it’s like I need a few days to process before I can even think about reading something else.

  6. TV Addiction is real!! I get addicted to tv shows on Netflix all the time! It can completely consume all of your free time! I feel you though, I just finished all five seasons of 90210 and am trying to get in some reading before I get addicted to my next show.

    • I love it! I’m doing the same thing. 🙂 There are so many shows in my queue, not to mention the ones that I’m already watching. I know book-reading people say TV is bad, but it can be such a great escape, too!

  7. The same happened to me when I first got into Doctor Who…it was all that I could think about for the longest time. And when I watched the first three seasons of Downton Abbey, I did that, too! haha I’m sure I’ll do it again with another show sometime soon, too. 😛 I kinda like that getting obsessed feeling!

    Lately, I’ve just been obsessed with the Outlander book series though! I’m on Voyager now…and I’m so hooked! Concentrating on anything else is super hard…I just want to read and read and read! haha

    Oh, and I’m two weeks behind on Doctor Who right now, too, so you’re not the only one. 😉 I keep putting off the one episode because the preview for it kinda freaked me out and I didn’t really want to watch it near nighttime. I used to be afraid of the dark when I was younger, so even the preview gave me the heebie jeebies! haha

    • Me, too … I love the feeling! And as much as I hate TV encroaching on my book reading time, it’s always great to find something that’s so good you can’t stop thinking about it. I rewatched Doctor Who SO MUCH. Especially those David Tennant seasons!

  8. Oh I know how this feels. In my defense, the reason I couldn’t bear the idea of missing an episode The Mindy Project because I just had to know when Mindy and Danny would get together! 😉

    Just let the addiction run it’s course and then you’ll soon be craving a book!

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

