September

september recap-01

Well hi there! It’s been a while!

WHERE DID SEPTEMBER GO?!?!?!? I know I’ve said this in every single monthly update, but this year is FLYING by! Though, while we’ve had a great summer, it’s nice to have the temperatures drop, turn on the furnace again, layer up in sweaters, cozy up on the couch with a hot cup of tea and a book … it’s perfect. 🙂

SeptemberPics

Of course, in previous childless years, I could get LOTS of bookreading done this time of year, so with a new baby AND my new tea biz, it can be a little tricky. AND if you love TV as much as I do, you’ll discover NetFlix and never get any reading done again …

This month I got completely addicted to Heartland, a Canadian TV show about a girl who trains horses. Seriously, I’d been seeing bits and pieces of this show on TV for some time now but never really sat down to watch it, then managed to watch all 7 seasons in two weeks.

There’s no time until there’s a TV show to watch!

And now LO turns his head whenever the theme music comes on. This show is kind of like Doctor Who to our one dog. Grace runs whenever the Doctor Who theme song comes on since it’s my ringtone. She’s convinced that something exciting is going to happen!

Meanwhile, there have been tons of commercials about Gracepoint coming to TV and my husband had to remind me that David Tennant — you know, Ten — was in the show. As if I didn’t already know. Being a huge Broadchurch fan, I’m still hesitant to watch, but if anything will sway me, it’s David Tennant ….

SeptemberPics2

I’m striving to get more bookreading in during October, but with all the great TV shows coming, who knows what will happen! Ha ha …

This month we didn’t do a heck of a lot. We had a few playdates, I got stuck in crazy winter mode and started stocking the freezer and pantry (yes, I’m aware that I do live close enough to grocery stores), and my husband and I had our wedding anniversary! He took us all out to the Devonian Gardens, which was so lovely. The air was a little crisp, so it was a great time for leggings and scarves … can I just say that I LOVE fall? My favourite time of year!

books read-01

Definitely hasn’t been the summer of reading for me …

  1. Isla and the Happily Ever After (Anna and the French Kiss, #3) by Stephanie Perkins
  2. Everything Leads to You by Nina LaCour
  3. What I Thought Was True by Huntley Fitzpatrick

Seriously could’ve done more reading this month, but like I said — TV! Not only was Heartland on my TV all the time, but then there were the Outlander reruns …

mailbox goodies-01

Get addicted to TV and then get caught up in business stuff equals NO TIME for buying books!

20141001_170231

I’ve been eyeing A House in the Sky for SOOOOOOO LONG! It’s the cover — I love the birds! Personally, I prefer the hardcover with the black cover and birds, but kept seeing this one at Costco (the only place I seem to go with books) and finally picked it up. I’m also not a HUGE Oprah fan, but I just love the look of her new book. I can’t wait to read it! It has such an old-school feel to it.

I also got just a couple ebooks this month:

dust to dust ellie jordan the sweetest thing you can sing

Definitely not crazy like previous months, but I’m a little sad that I didn’t go browse a bit more. 😦

How was your month? Have you read anything good lately?

signature-01

4 thoughts on “September

  1. Just a heads up if you decide to watch Gracepoint…the pilot is almost the exact same thing as the Broadchurch pilot, just without the accents. Apparently things don’t really drastically change until around the seventh episode.
    I’ll probably keep watching for Tennant, but I’ll impatiently be waiting for the twists!

  2. Netflix is addictive isn’t it? I have the same feelings about Gracepoint. I am not sure I want to spoil Broadchurch – I did that when I watched the US Killing after the Danish one. Still it is David Tennant.

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

