Horror Shorts #ReadAThon Week

Halloween is one of my favourite times of the year. In previous years, I made October the month of scary movies, but with my new little guy, I really don’t want to put on a horror movie to watch in the background during the day and who can stay up at night when they’re old and caring for their child? I know, I know, I’m a grandma.

This year I knew I couldn’t let Halloween pass without some horror in my life, so I thought I’d pick up a book or something … until I came across Flavorwire’s list of the 50 Scariest Short Stories of All Time (thanks to Quirk Books for sharing!). What better way to get some delicious horror into my life at this time of year than with a short story! Perfect for someone who doesn’t have huge chunks of time to read.

I thought I’d make even more fun of it and have a whole WEEK dedicated to reading some horror short stories — and thought maybe I’d invite my readers to join me!

Short Story Read-A-Thon

This week I’m hoping to get through at least 10 of the stories. Some of these I can listen to, or listen through YouTube, which works for me. The original Flavorwire list had 50 stories but I picked out the ones where they included a link to the story (since I’m cheap like that and like things easy!) … and out of those ones I picked out the ones that looked the most interesting. Hopefully I can get two a day done and be good and spooked by the end of the week!

Care to join me? Why not sign up at the link below:

Here are my choices of stories I’m going to try and read:

  1. The Infamous Bengal Ming by Rajesh Paranesweran (Listen HERE)
  2. Snow, Glass, Apples by Neil Gaiman (Read HERE)
  3. The Veldt by Ray Bradbury (Read HERE)
  4. The Other Place by Mary Gaitskill (Read HERE)
  5. Where Are You Going, Where Have You Been? by Joyce Carol Oates (Read HERE)
  6. The Signal Man by Charles Dickens (Read HERE)
  7. The Monkey’s Paw by W. W. Jacobs (Read HERE)
  8. The Tell-Tale Heart by Edgar Allen Poe (Read HERE)
  9. The Road Virus Heads North by Stephen King (Read HERE)
  10. Casting the Runes by M. R. James (Read HERE)
  11. The Dunwich Horror by H. P. Lovecraft (Read HERE)
  12. Out of Skin by Emily Carroll (Read HERE)
  13. The Lottery by Shirley Jackson (Read HERE)
  14. The Green Ribbon by Alvin Schwartz (Read HERE)
  15. Miriam by Truman Capote (Read HERE)
  16. Dial Tone by Benjamin Percy (Read HERE)
  17. Le Horla by Guy de Maupassant (Read HERE)
  18. A Rose for Emily by William Faulkner (Read HERE)
  19. The Landlady by Roald Dahl (Read HERE)
  20. The Graveless Doll of Eric Mutis by Karen Russell (Read HERE)
  21. Silent Snow, Secret Snow by Conrad Aiken (Read HERE)
  22. The Babysitter by Robert Coover (Read HERE)

All of these are from the Flavorwire article, PLUS I think I have a few of my own somewhere to read, including the short that Neil Gaiman released last year!

UPDATE: Quirk Books released a link to some more great (TRUE!) horror stories HERE. They look super spooky!

UPDATE #2: I found this great article on Quirk Books about creepy graphic novels and they have links to some web comics! I’ll definitely be exploring those next week! You can view the links HERE.

UPDATE #3: Another great article from BookRiot with 5 spooky reads from women writers. Definitely checking this one out! You can read them HERE.

UPDATE #4: CBC Books posted a link to a new R. L. Stine horror short story on Thursday. Looking forward to this one since I’m listening to one of his Goosebumps books! Read it HERE.

UPDATE #5: Quirk Books posted some great Edgar Allen Poe stories to read out loud for Halloween. Read them HERE.

If you have any recommendations of really good horror short stories, be sure to comment below!

Are you going to join me in my week of horror short stories? 

signature-01

7 thoughts on “Horror Shorts #ReadAThon Week

  1. I’m doing a readathon this week and already have my books picked out, but if I have some time at the end, these short stories would be a great way to finish the readathon-bookmarking this post 🙂

    And yeah, I have three kids and I’m crashing into bed by 9:30 usually lol.

  2. This is a great post. I can tell a lot of work went into it! I will commit to reading the Joyce Carol Oates story, in preparation for her event next month (just bought my ticket!) I’m also reading We Were the Mulvaneys right now and loving it.

    • Nice! I’ve never read anything by her … I do love the idea of short stories. Sometimes I find that they can be scarier than a full book! So I’m hoping something here terrifies me!

  3. Pingback: October | Reading In Winter

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

