{Book & A Cuppa} Wednesday’s Book & Tea

It’s Wednesday! The middle of the week! What better way to celebrate than with a book and a cup of tea? OK, maybe I celebrate every day with a book and a cup of tea! I thought it would be fun to try and have a day a week, though, where I share with you what I’m reading and what’s in my teacup!

Today I’m drinking a delicious blend, Coconut Calypso!

Coconut Calypso

When I first opened up this bag of Steeped Tea white tea, I was a little taken aback because the smell was quite overwhelming. I figured that the tea itself might taste way too strong for me — and for other people who like coconut but don’t want their tea to taste like they’re drinking it out of a coconut shell. However, I was pleasantly surprised by the taste. It’s very subtle and smooth, with a very nice light aroma of coconut.

The nice thing, too, is that it’s a white tea, so I can steep it 3 times! Sadly, I made a carafe using up all of my steeps, but that just means I get to enjoy it all morning, right?

The Summoning And Coconut Calypso

Now, onto today’s book! I had just finished my Kenneth Oppel book yesterday, so it was time to start another one! I knew I wanted something spooky, since Halloween is well on its way, so I started Mary: The Summoning by Hillary Monahan.

mary the summoning

Here’s the synopsis:

There is a right way and a wrong way to summon her.

Jess had done the research. Success requires precision: a dark room, a mirror, a candle, salt, and four teenage girls. Each of them–Jess, Shauna, Kitty, and Anna–must link hands, follow the rules . . . and never let go.

A thrilling fear spins around the room the first time Jess calls her name: “Bloody Mary. Bloody Mary. BLOODY MARY.” A ripple of terror follows when a shadowy silhouette emerges through the fog, a specter trapped behind the mirror.

Once is not enough, though–at least not for Jess. Mary is called again. And again. But when their summoning circle is broken, Bloody Mary slips through the glass with a taste for revenge on her lips. As the girls struggle to escape Mary’s wrath, loyalties are questioned, friendships are torn apart, and lives are forever altered.

A haunting trail of clues leads Shauna on a desperate search to uncover the legacy of Mary Worth. What she finds will change everything, but will it be enough to stop Mary–and Jess–before it’s too late?

Spooky, right? I remember when I was younger, my friends and I would try and “summon” Bloody Mary and I would always, always get so freaked out! I mean, I love ghost stories, but the idea of being all by yourself in a bathroom with a candle in the dark staring into a mirror waiting for a ghost to appear is so scary!

I’m not too far into this one yet, only about 10%, but I’ve heard really good things, so I hope it’s a gooder!

Have you read The Summoning? What’s in your tea cup this morning? 

signature-01

9 thoughts on “{Book & A Cuppa} Wednesday’s Book & Tea

  1. Yum! I find most white teas smell a lot stronger than they taste!! Great idea making a big carafe to keep it hot all day and night… With the kids my tea always goes cold before I finish it!

    • I had SO much tea left over from my parties on the weekend that I had about 10 pots work in my little containers I brought home … none of my hosts had teapots to resteep themselves, so I’ve been working my way through. The carafe definitely helps! And yeah, hot tea all the time!

    • Mmm … we have a Chocolate Cherry white tea that I still need to buy. And yeah, not a lot of people are a fan of coconut! That’s why I’m glad this one is such a subtle flavour.

  2. I think I might like something with coconut! I don’t know ANYTHING about tea (coffee drinker here…and always with sweetener and milk), but every once in a while I have a glass of herbal tea with some honey. But it’s definitely cheap stuff from a bag. Where would one even begin learning?!

  3. Pingback: October | Reading In Winter

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

