{Book Review} The Second Book Syndrome

what I thought was trueSo it’s been a little while since I’ve read What I Thought Was True, the second offering from Huntley Fitzpatrick who wrote the amazing My Life Next Door. I knew that there was no way her new book would stack up to her first one and I’m sad to say that after reading it, it’s still true.

One thing I did love about this book is the beach town. Can all books be in a beach town? I just love the fact that I can feel the sand getting in my shoes (which is never annoying when you’re near the beach), feel the spray of the water on my face, and I basically crave ice cream at every page turn. Beaches are good. All cities should be made near beaches.

One thing I wasn’t a huge fan of was the characters. I wanted to like Gwen and Cassidy, I really did, but they never did grab me anywhere throughout the story. Gwen seemed to make herself out as being some huge slut when really she wasn’t, so it was kind of annoying to see her constantly thinking everyone just wanted her body. And throughout the book there are these big flashbacks to things that happened in the past which I think were supposed to be shocking, but really weren’t.

There are also the adults in the book. The old lady who Gwen was attending to was definitely awesome, but from the old lady’s nurse (who was bitter beyond belief) to the lady who called everyone Jose or Maria (is that really a thing??) to Gwen’s parents … everyone got on my nerves! I hated Gwen’s dad because he was just a slimeball from the start and I did not empathize when Gwen when she seemed to think he was okay, when really he was still a slimeball. His ethics were pretty much nonexistant so I hope we weren’t supposed to take him as a role model anywhere in the book. Maybe it’s just me, but I prefer someone in a book to be the voice of reason and sometimes that boils down to the parents, so when everyone seems to have their head on backwards, it just doesn’t jive with me.

There’s even the fact that all the old people liked their super sexy romances to be read out loud to them. In what universe is that a thing? Have they not heard of audiobooks? I can understand old people having their quirks, but this just seemed weird and kind of icky to me.

I’d like to say that the romance justified the parts I didn’t like, but it was just kind of okay. I like the whole class division aspect in books, but I was kind of annoyed with Gwen always seeming to have an issue with Cass being rich and her not being so well off. I liked how Cass didn’t let it bother him, but Gwen seemed to have a stick up her butt for a lot of the story in regards to this (and in regards to the big secret), so it was more annoying than anything else.

Anyway, I really wanted to like this one because of My Life Next Door, but that book had a lot more innocence, a lot more heart, and just a lot more to it than this one. I can only hope that the next book is much better.

Have you read this one? What are some of your favourite beach theme stories? 

signature-01

4 thoughts on “{Book Review} The Second Book Syndrome

  1. Pingback: October | Reading In Winter

  2. Pingback: 2014 End of Year Book Survey | Reading In Winter

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

