{Mini Reviews} Am I immune to scary books?

Two books finished on the weekend, both marketed as scary reads. Do I even need to say that I didn’t really find either of them scary?

black iceThe first book, Black Ice by Becca Fitzpatrick, is a standalone book (thank goodness!) and I’m still very much on the fence about it. I can’t even remember what article or review I had read that said it was super scary, but I fell for it and bought the book at full price on my recent bookstore trip. I was really excited to dive into it because it sounded like a scary book with no vampires, werewolves, or paranormal element in sight. Yes, I thought.

However, once I started reading it I got really annoyed. The two main characters, Britt and Korbie were so insanely annoying that I questioned whether I should finish reading the book at all. Korbie, especially. I mean, when you have a boyfriend and you’re going on and on about getting to stay up at a cabin with him, so much so that your parents send your brother as an adult figure to keep an eye on you, does that mean that you would throw yourself at the next available hot guy because your boyfriend isn’t there yet? To me, that’s a no, but to Korbie, it was an annoying pouty-faced yes.

Frankly, I couldn’t even see how her and Britt were even friends still since it seemed like one of those long-standing friendships of convenience. Korbie even had a comparison list between the two of them outlining who was hotter. I mean … what?

Then there’s the whole “mystery” part of the book. I put it in quotations because it really wasn’t a mystery at all. From the beginning, it was a bit of a toss up as to what sketchy, asshole guy would be the bad guy (and which one would be the love interest, because you know that’s going to happen), but I pinpointed it right away and there was no surprise when it happened. I will admit that I was intrigued in the story enough to keep reading, but I skimmed a little bit just to get it done, all the while trying to not roll my eyes too much.

Cue rant …

Guys, I come from Canada, where it’s winter about 8 months out of the year (give or take). First of all, if we’re going somewhere up in the mountains, make sure the car is ready for it. Britt and Korbie had the top down on the jeep. Really? Yeah, if it’s snowing and cold, you would be FREEZING. Second of all, if the car breaks down, the first instinct isn’t, “Hey! Let’s go wander aimlessly throughout the woods until we find a house! I don’t care if my car is in the middle of the road and it’s freezing outside and we can’t even see our hand in front of our face!” No. You stay in your freaking car. And you at least push it out of the road. But no, Britt asks Korbie to help push it out of the road (after Korbie pretty much yells at her because they’re not making it to the cabin on time) and Korbie pretty much throws a girly hissy fit since there’s no way in hell she’d be caught dead pushing a car out of the way on a snow covered road. Third, and last, of all, if you do manage to come across a cabin in the woods, you knock politely and ask to use the phone first, you don’t automatically flounce through the house like you own the place, even though a totally sketchy vibe is emanating from both guys in the house. I mean, it has to be okay because the guys are hot, right? So automatically claim which one you have dibs on and flirt your way into the night. Yeah.

End rant.

So yeah, not my favourite book. But I bought it, I finished it, I will probably not read it ever again.

Next book.

mary the summoningWhen I was younger, I remember going into the bathroom on my own, as a dare from my friend, to recite Bloody Mary three times while looking into the mirror. It was pretty much a rite of passage in the 80s. Was I terrified? You bet your ass I was. Did I run out of the bathroom in tears a few times? Oh yeah. I was a wuss back then.

I say that now, but I’m sure I wouldn’t be caught dead doing this anytime soon in my 30s. That’s right. I talk the talk, but I’m definitely not taking it for a walk.

Anyway, I had heard a few people talk about Mary: The Summoning like it was THE book to read this Halloween. It was supposed to be super scary and since it was about something that I knew, something that I actually tried when I was young, I was game to read the book. I knew it HAD to be scary.

I tried reading this book in the dark, trying to get that spooky vibe going on, but I felt like maybe there was too much dialogue? Too many people? I don’t know what it was. There were four girls in this story and they weren’t nearly as annoying as Britt and Korbie in the last book, but they were up there. Jess was the bitch of the group (seriously, doesn’t anyone ever stand up to her?) and Kitty was the weakling. She snivelled and wept LOTS in the book. None of the girls really get much character building and I felt no connection to any of them throughout the story.

And don’t even get me started on Mary, the supposed ghost of the story. When I picture ghosts, I don’t picture them laughing and chuckling. Mary chuckled a lot and it was very off-putting and not in a scary way.

The synopsis of the story made me think of The Ring, where the lead character goes on a search to find the history of the girl in the well, to try and find out why she’s haunting and killing people. But that one was done WAY better. This one — and if you don’t want to be spoiled, don’t read the next line. I’m not sure if it’s a spoiler, but maybe — is pretty much, “Oh hey, let me do this internet search quickly. Hey, here’s our answer!” To me, it felt a little weak.

AND this book is the first of a series. I don’t really get why it had to be a series since the author could’ve really packed a punch in one book and ended it really good for the reader. I most definitely won’t be continuing on, but I’ve gotten some other recommendations for other Bloody Mary stories that I might pick up instead. Really, the only creepy thing about this book is the cover, unfortunately.

Have you read either of these stories? Did you find them scary? 

signature-01

3 thoughts on “{Mini Reviews} Am I immune to scary books?

  1. That sucks that these books weren’t what you wanted! It’s always hard to find that one book that can really scare you. I haven’t read either of those books thankfully, and the only one I can recommend for a read is Ellie Jordan, Ghost Trapper by j.l.byran. It technically is part of a series but when the first book ends that part of the story is done so the next book will be different. 🙂

  2. Pingback: October | Reading In Winter

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

