{Book & A Cuppa #2} Wednesday’s Book & Tea

It’s Wednesday! Another day to share with you what I’m reading and what’s in my teacup! 

20141029_104253

It’s gloomy and snowy here today … the perfect weather to snuggle up with a good book, a cup of tea, and a blanket. AND since it’s Halloween, you’ll see that I have another spooooky book on the go!

Super delicious, and one that took me by surprise, today’s tea is Coco-Sweet Sencha:

Coco Sweet SenchaWhy did this book take me by surprise, you ask? Well, it’s because I never was a big fan of green tea until I tried Steeped Tea’s green teas. Before that I was always oversteeping my tea bags and I always found green tea to be (for lack of a better word) gross. And super bitter.

Sencha is typically one of those teas we tea people recommend to tea drinkers who like a traditional green tea – nothing fancy. Sencha is something that my dad would probably like, since he’s very much a traditional green tea guy. Me? I like someting with a little bit more of … something. So when I got this tea, I was very skeptical. So much so that I didn’t even try it. I made samples out of it instead, just assuming that I wouldn’t like it!

The other day I decided to give it a go since I was looking for a green tea to drink, I’d drank all my other ones plenty of times and I just needed something different. This one said it had coconut in it, so I thought, “I love coconut! Let’s do this!”

BOY WAS I SURPRISED!

This tea is a perfect blend of green tea and sweetness. The smell is INCREDIBLE. The taste even more so. I could seriously drink this stuff all day long — and I have! Since green teas can be steeped three times! Now I’m just sad that I used most of my bag for samples — I’ll be ordering a HUGE bag of this one for sure next time I order!

Now, onto today’s book!

This past week I’ve been gobbling down scary book after “scary” book (the second one in quotations since some of the books are supposed to be scary, but just aren’t), and just started one today that looks super scary — and I’m just going by the cover for now!

the dark betweenHere’s the synopsis:

A supernatural romance about the powers that lie in the shadows of the mind, perfect for fans of Sarah Rees Brennan, Alyxandra Harvey, and Libba Bray.

At the turn of the twentieth century, Spiritualism and séances are all the rage—even in the scholarly town of Cambridge, England. While mediums dupe the grief-stricken, a group of local fringe scientists seeks to bridge the gap to the spirit world by investigating the dark corners of the human mind.

Each running from a shadowed past, Kate, Asher, and Elsie take refuge within the walls of Summerfield College. But their peace is soon shattered by the discovery of a dead body nearby. Is this the work of a flesh-and-blood villain, or is something otherworldly at play? This unlikely trio must illuminate what the scientists have not, and open a window to secrets taken to the grave—or risk joining the spirit world themselves.

Isn’t the cover just super creepy? I love that this story revolves around ghosts and seances … it seems perfect for this time of year! I can’t really say much else about it, since I’m only a chapter in, but I sure hope the pages inside the book jacket live up to that cover!

Have you read The Dark Between? What’s in your tea cup this morning? Want to participate in Book & A Cuppa? Share what’s in your teacup and what you’re reading by linking below! 

signature-01

Advertisements

5 thoughts on “{Book & A Cuppa #2} Wednesday’s Book & Tea

  1. I think that I could make tea for the smell alone! I ordered a mango iced tea yesterday at lunch (after urging from my BIL) and while I liked it, I still preferred my water. Hmmm. And yes-that is a great cover! Curious how you define horror? #random

    • I do like water, but I love how tea feels like a treat! It has some great health benefits, too. 🙂 Hmm … when I think of a good horror story, I want something that will unnerve me, make me think there’s something just out of the corner of my eye, and make me afraid to go anywhere without all the lights on. Personally, I love ghost stories, though I notice that a lot of people define mystery or thrillers as horror, like detective stories or something, and I really don’t. I want something spooky and creepy. I read Charles Dickens’s The Signalman and was so spooked out by the end. It was a subtle kind of horror but effective.

  2. Pingback: October | Reading In Winter

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s