October

october recap-01

Well hi there! It’s been a while!

October in one word … WINDY! Seriously, what is with the wind in Alberta in the fall? I love the leaves when they start to change, the green changing to gold, the crispness in the air … and then the wind comes and changes it all! The leaves all fall off the trea so we’re stuck with skeletons, and then the wind sends a biting chill down your spine.

And really? How does one dress a baby who is mobile for cold weather? Am I the only one dreading those -40 days?

Part of me has been in major stock-up mode and making sure we have lots of food in the house for when we have those days or weeks when we can’t go out for groceries. This also seems to include premaking casseroles and dishes, baking bread, stockpiling homemade soups, etc. We even bought a second freezer since we have a half bison on the way.

That’s right. Winter is coming.

Thanksgiving happened this month and I only realized the day after that it was actually Lucas’s very first Thanksgiving! I probably would’ve taken more pictures had I realized. We did have a big milestone happen that day — he took his first steps! I might have cried a little. When did my boy get to be so big? Soon we’ll be celebrating the big ONE!

Not a lot of exciting things happened on the blog, though I did feel inspired to write about one of my favourite musicians, Amanda Palmer. Then I tweeted about and she responded, which basically meant my heart (and blog!) exploded:

amanda palmer shares my blog post

I can’t wait for her book to come out this month … it’s going to look beautiful on my shelf! AND Indigo had signed copies, which is awesome.

Tea business was awesome this month — my second recruit, Ambur from Burning Impossibly Bright, had her launch party and I can definitely say that I made the right decision getting into this business. The tea is delicious and everyone raves about it when they try it! I love it!

I did a slight blog makeover this month, with a new header and some new background colours and textures. LOVE it. I feel like it represents more of where I’m at right now, with my new little reading buddy, my tea business, and of course, my neverending love of winter and where I live.

newbloglook

Plus, the blog has been going through a few changes since I’m not reading hundreds of books a year anymore. I wanted the new look to reflect the fact that there will be more than just bookish posts on the blog. And I don’t have a ton of time for songwriting anymore, so I wanted to take the wording out about songs being on the blog. Maybe one day I’ll get back into writing more bookish songs …

What’s been on the blog this month? Lots of great stuff!

Addictions: 
Being Erica

Reviews: 
The Almost Truth by Eileen Cook
A Rogue By Any Other Name (The Rule of Scoundrels, #1) by Sarah MacLean
Such Wicked Intent (The Apprenticeship of Victor Frankenstein, #2) by Kenneth Oppel
Never Seduce a Scot (The Montgomerys and Armstrongs, #1) by Maya Banks
What I Thought Was True by Huntley Fitzpatrick
Mary: The Summoning (Bloody Mary, #1) by Hilary Monahan
Black Ice by Becca Fitzpatrick
The Madman’s Daughter (The Madman’s Daughter, #1) by Megan Shepherd
Through the Woods by Emily Carroll
Hell House by Richard Matheson (Audiobook)
Say Her Name by James Dawson
Revenge of the Living Dummy (Goosebump Horrorland, #1) by R. L. Stine (Audiobook)
The Grimm Conclusion (A Tale Dark and Grimm, #3) by Adam Gidwitz

Discussions: 
How to Move Forward and Backwards at the Same Time
{Reading With Little One} Sharing a Love of Reading — Is It Supposed to Be Hard?

Tea Posts: 
{A Little Tea Love} Tea — It’s Not Just Your Grandma’s Drink!
{Book & A Cuppa} Wednesday’s Book & Tea
{Book & A Cuppa #2} Wednesday’s Book & Tea

Events: 
Horror Shorts #Readathon Week

Miscellaneous Posts: 
Challenge Update: Anne & Kristilyn’s 2014 Book Bingo Reading Challenge (Update #3)
{Blog Tour} The Sweetest Thing You Can Sing by C. K. Kelly
Musician Turned Author Turned Queen Of the World {A Love Letter to Amanda Palmer}

books read-01

I’m happy that I’ve been working in more reading into my day — I’m doing so much better than last month! I’m trying to find that perfect balance between family, business, reading, and blogging and one day I’ll get there …

  1. Anna and the French Kiss (Anna and the French Kiss, #1) by Stephanie Perkins
  2. The Almost Truth by Eileen Cook
  3. A Rogue by Any Other Name (The Rule of Scoundrels, #1) by Sarah MacLean
  4. Such Wicked Intent (The Apprenticeship of Victor Frankenstein, #2) by Kenneth Oppel
  5. Black Ice by Becca Fitzpatrick
  6. Mary: The Summoning (Bloody Mary, #1) by Hilary Monahan
  7. The Madman’s Daughter (The Madman’s Daughter, #1) by Meghan Shepherd
  8. Through the Woods by Emily Carroll
  9. Hell House by Richard Matheson (Audiobook)
  10. Say Her Name by James Dawson
  11. Revenge of the Living Dummy (Goosebumps: Horrorland, #1) by R. L. Stine (Audiobook)
  12. The Grimm Conclusion (A Tale Dark & Grimm, #3) by Adam Gidwitz

I actually did a big reading push at the end of the month since Halloween crept up on me! I love reading a good scary book, so I read quite a few! Plus a whole bunch of short stories. I also rediscovered audiobooks this month, which was great. Our library got Hoopla and I signed out two audiobooks on it this month. I only wish that we could take out more than 5 items in a month. So far I’m just using it for audiobooks and it’s working out okay … I wish they had more of a selection!

mailbox goodies-01

This month the boy and I went NUTS with our books. We found some great sales for his books so he got quite a few …

20141019_112819

Sandra Boynton is the BEST when it comes to kid’s books! Her stories are always so cute and funny. And I love the Daniel Howarth books … we have a few of the ‘Why I Love …” books. I debated getting the Why I Love Hockey book but I think we’ll wait until the boy actually knows what hockey is!

Then there are MY books for the month … I may have gone a little crazy. Sorry some of the pictures are blurry. When your child is barelling towards the books with sticky hands you take the picture!

october1

I had bought The Magician King, thinking it was the first book in a series — or not part of any series — and then I got home and realized it’s the second. Oh well. Maybe I’ll find the first for really cheap, then! I had bought Alan Doyle’s book for his book signing on the 18th, but now I can’t go — still really looking forward to reading it! I loved Great Big Sea growing up. 🙂 And yay for A Sudden Light! Loooooved The Art of Racing in the Rain. Still one of my favourite book covers! october2

The Rosie Effect!! I’m so excited to read that one … and I think I remember seeing somewhere that it’s not the last in this series? Who knows … at any rate, I’m excited for more Don and Rosie! And I caved and bought Rooms. Probably won’t read it anytime soon, but I think it’ll be a good one to have on hand when I feel like a spooky, ghostly read. october3

Tea books! I had been at Chapters for their home promotion, where I was planning to get my $10 gift card and I saw this book on an end shelf and knew I had to have it. It’s just so pretty! And I’ve heard really good things about Teatime for the Firefly … of course I can’t pass up a book with tea in the title. 🙂 october4

I am CRAZY excited for My True Love Gave to Me! I know it’s going to be amazing! I can’t wait to crack that one open when I’m feeling festive. And I read Black Ice already this past month … wasn’t a huge fan. 😦 I’m hoping to squeeze in Sense and Sensibility as my Classic read for Book Bingo … happy I finally found a copy! I’ve been to a few book sales and can you believe no one ever has this one for sale? I find TONS of Emma and Jane Eyre, though. october5

I got these ones at my library’s ongoing book sale. I vaguely remember hearing good things about the Sherman Alexie book and who can pass up some scary Christopher Pike? At $0.25 each, I couldn’t resist! Now I just have to remember to check out their book sale more often …

Jane Christmas

And lastly (finally!), the weekend before Halloween, the library was hosting author Jane Christmas. We just happened to be in town doing some trick or treating in the business district (a special day and time just for kids), so I stopped in and met the author, bought a book, and got it signed. It looks really good!

Aaaaaand just a few ebooks:

Pageflex Persona [document: PRS0000037_00031]Girl and wayinferno park
Allie Brennan sent me an email a while back and she is just too cute! I finished Tight Knit a few days ago (since it’s already November and I’m late at writing this) and loved it. I can’t wait to read Under the Dusty Sky now! I love that I’m working more Canadian authors into my reading. We have some real gems!

How was your month? Have you read anything good lately?

signature-01

11 thoughts on “October

  1. So much good stuff on your blog, I don’t even know where to start!
    Well first I love the new design, it’s beautiful! Congrats on your little guy walking too 🙂 Our wedding was the 12th of October so it seems that weekend was just full of awesomeness!
    You got a lot of good books too, when I eventually have kids I’m going to be asking you for recommendations hehe. And your personal haul looks really good too, I really want to get Where I Belong. Ooh and My True Love Gave to Me is at hold for me at the library as of last night, yay! There’s a good chance I missed something, but have a good November!

    • Congrats on your wedding! You’re right … avery good weekend! 🙂 It’s funny because we have a lot of books for the boy, but we don’t have as many as others … I find I’m super picky with his books!

      I hope you enjoy My True Love Gave To Me! I’m just itching to read it!

  2. I’m totally overwhelmed by cold winter days and dressing a baby! Seems like so much work and I’m still worried about keeping his little face warm.

    My reading has been non-existent to say the least, right now, but I do plan on reading Alan Doyle’s book! My mom is his publicist for his Edmonton tour and so I plan to meet him that day and I really want to be able to honestly say to him “I read your book!” 🙂

    Also, love the new look going on here!

    • Are you going to the tour stop that night? I wish I could go, but I have a party booked late that afternoon and will have a baby in tow, so I just won’t make it!

      And yeah, when you figure out how to dress a baby in this weather, let me know. I’ll be keeping lots of blankets in the car!

  3. Pingback: November Recap {A.K.A. The One With a Silly Amount of Books Which Basically Means No Book Buying In 2015 — But Really Who Am I Kidding?} | Reading In Winter

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

