{Graphic Novel Week} If I Were a Superhero …

Graphic Novel Week

the adventures of superhero girlIt’s Graphic Novel Week! When I started the week, I didn’t know that I would start it off reading a song that immediately called for a song, but when I started reading The Adventures of Superhero Girl by Faith Erin Hicks, this song I wrote about 5 years ago came to mind … it just fits in so perfect!

Go ahead and take a listen. I’ll wait.

 

Have you read the book? Did you listen to the song? They kinda work together, right?

First of all, I wasn’t even sure if I was going to read this one since I hadn’t heard anything about it, so I didn’t know what it was about. I also had a HUGE list of books to read so I didn’t know if I should bump this up to the top of my list BUT I also felt like I should read it since I hadn’t heard of it, which made it a good pick to read first.

Does any of that make sense?

ANYWAY. This book was pretty freaking awesome. I assumed it would be just a normal superhero book (think Batman, or something of the like), and in a way it was, but it was also crazy hilarious and completely different from anything I was expecting. I kind of thought it was just a book for kids, but it works for kids and adults (though, at some point a few of the characters go to a club and get drunk, so maybe it’s not totally for kids) … basically, if you’re looking for something awesome and funny, something you’ll want to recommend to beginner graphic novel readers, this is the book to go to.

If you’re like me and the first thought of graphic novels and comics means superheroes, then this book is perfect because it pokes fun at books like that. It pokes fun at superheroes in general, but in such a fun and lighthearted way — I couldn’t put it down! And the illustrations were perfect, too. I loved how detailed they were, the colours, and they basically fit this genre perfectly.

Highly, highly recommended if you’re looking for some fun stories, if you want to laugh, and if you have a short amount of time to read and just want to read something good. Plus, the author is Canadian, so you’ll be exposing yourself to even more amazing Canadian talent! I’m very interested to read more of what Erin Faith Hicks has to offer … by the looks of it she has quite a few books available, so I’m excited to check them out!

Have you read this book? What’s a graphic novel that surprised you? 

signature-01

One thought on “{Graphic Novel Week} If I Were a Superhero …

  1. Pingback: November Recap {A.K.A. The One With a Silly Amount of Books Which Basically Means No Book Buying In 2015 — But Really Who Am I Kidding?} | Reading In Winter

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

