{Graphic Novel Week} Graphic Novel Review Round-Up #2 (Skim, Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children, and more!)

Graphic Novel Week

Instead of throwing multiple review posts at you each day, I figured I’d do a few review round-up posts with mini reviews! This month I’ve been trying to read a lot more graphic novels, so there are a LOT of reviews to get through!

skim page by paige i kill giants
miss peregrine fatherland sisters

Skim by Mariko Tamaki and Jillian Tamaki {Canadian}

I feel like I should’ve liked this one more than I did. Maybe I had This One Summer on my brain too much while reading this one, but I really felt like it didn’t compare with that story. I kind of felt like there was a lack of story with this one and the illustrations, while nice, weren’t as great as the ones in This One Summer. Skim, the main character, was supposed to be this goth/wicca character but aside from the things she said, I didn’t really get any inclination that she was either of these things. I also felt like she didn’t really have much going for her, like I couldn’t really connect to her as a character. At any rate, I feel like the cousins are growing in their stories, so I still look forward to what they come up with next!

Page by Paige by Laura Lee Gulledge

I loved this book! I think I had taken it out from the library before but never did get around to reading it, so I’m very happy to have finally cracked it open. Paige was such a great character. She really is that person lurking in every creative person, in every person who wants to do something but it too shy to outwardly show it. I felt like the whole story was completely inspiring and motivational. I loved the story of Paige finding a group of people who helped break her out of her shell. I felt like I could really connect to Paige throughout the whole story. She grew so much and would be an inspiration to any young person! And the illustrations! I loved how Paige was dripping from every page and how the illustrations really portrayed the frustration boiling inside of her. The whole thing was very thoughtful and I highly recommend it!

I Kill Giants by Joe Kelly

This was a very different kind of book for me. For the first half or so I really didn’t understand what was going on. Was the main character really hunting giants? Were the giants a metaphor? I honestly wasn’t the biggest fan of the main character for most of the book. I think that’s how it was supposed to be — she was supposed to be a difficult character to really understand. Of course by the end of the book I completey got what was going on and it was so sad! Lovely ending, but I feel like it was straining for the first bit. The illustrations were wonderful at some points, but I felt like they were too drippy and rough in others. Still, it was a decent story. Probably not one I’d recommend to beginners, but one I did enjoy by the final page.

Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs

This one was so good! I loved the novel for this story and thought it was also great to read as a graphic novel. It was fun to see the characters on the page and relive all of those moments I had in the first book. The photos were still present in this book, which was wonderful. They’re still wonderfully creepy! My only real complaint about the story told in graphic novel form is that there was a bit of an air of mystery lost with actually seeing the characters. It was kind of nice when it was just the photographs in the book, where I didn’t know anything about the characters on the island aside from what I saw in the photographs. I feel like it was more mysterious in my head than seeing them on the page. Still, it was a fun one to go through again and it reminded me of why I loved the story in the first place.

Fatherland by Nina Bunjevac {Canadian}

Not too much to say about this one. It’s more of an autobiography and it was beautifully told. The illustrations were great and it was a fast read. I read another review where the reviewer said a book like this made them thankful for their suburban life and I have to agree. It’s amazing what Bunjevac’s family had to go through!

Sisters by Raina Telgemeier

Guys, I am a HUGE fan of Raina Telgemeier’s work! While I’ve loved her previous graphic novels, I didn’t think I would love this one because it’s about sisters and I only have brothers. Would I get it? Fortunately, this one was just as good as her previous books since it wasn’t just about sisters, but about growing up and friendship. I may not have been able to totally put myself into the character’s shoes, but I loved the story. I loved how we have the story of the family going on a car trip, paired with flashbacks of the past with Raina excited to be getting a sister, to not exactly liking her sister, to the two sisters getting a brother. Not only that, but there’s a bit of a deeper family drama going on underneath that. Sad and wonderful — I can’t wait to see what Raina comes up with next!

Have you read any of these graphic novels? What did you think? 

signature-01

5 thoughts on “{Graphic Novel Week} Graphic Novel Review Round-Up #2 (Skim, Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children, and more!)

  1. I loved Skim and connected with her character more than the ones in This One Summer (though I loved both.) I think they did incredible things with the art in both. I feel like I finally “get” graphic novels!

    I’m interested in trying another non-fiction graphic novel… is Fatherland a true story?

    • It is a true story, but I wasn’t a huge fan. I think if you’re going the non fiction route, I’d try The Complete Persepolis by Marjane Satrapi. I also think Through the Woods by Emily Carroll is amazing. You might also like Blankets by Craig Thompson!

  2. Pingback: November Recap {A.K.A. The One With a Silly Amount of Books Which Basically Means No Book Buying In 2015 — But Really Who Am I Kidding?} | Reading In Winter

  3. Love all the books you mentioned!! I’m so interested in reading the graphic novel version of Mrs Peregines Home for Peculiar Childern. And of course, Amanda Palmer!

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

