{Review Catch-Up} A Whole Bunch of Mini Reviews

December caught up with me so fast that I let a few book reviews get away from me. So in an effort to catch up, here are some quick thoughts on the books I forgot to review in the past month or so!

anne of green gables

Anne of Green Gables by L. M. Montgomery

LOVED THIS! How did I not read such a great Canadian classic for so long? This one was read to complete my 2014 Book Bingo scorecard … I had full intentions to read other books to fill my classic square and this one won out. Mainly because it was an audiobook and that was the only thing I had time to read! I loved Anne and even though she talked SO MUCH I found her kind of endearing. The book was completely different from what I was expecting but that’s a good thing. Once I finished, I knew I’d be reading the next ones in the future … I need to know more about Anne!

first drop of crimson

First Drop of Crimson (Night Huntress World, #1) by Jeaniene Frost

OK, so it wasn’t until reading the previous book from the Night Huntress series that I decided I needed to read all of the spin-off books as well. And I’m SO GLAD I made that decision! I loved Spade in this book! There were little spatterings of Bones throughout the book, too, which was awesome, but Spade really won the show. It made me super excited to read the next book about Mencheres!

once upon a prince

Once Upon a Prince (Royal Wedding, #1) by Rachel Hauck

When I first started listening to this one on audiobook, I loved it! I had read a few Rachel Hauck books in the past and loved them all and while this one had a certain charm to it, the whole idea of the prince being in love with the commoner grew old after a bit. There was a bit of lack of conflict throughout the book and he seemed like a dog (albeit a cute one) who just kept chasing after the bone that just didn’t want to be had. It was kind of a meh book for me, though I did hear that the next one in the series is a lot better, so I’ll be sure to give that one a go.

everythings perfect when you're a liar

Everything’s Perfect When You’re a Liar by Kelly Oxford

I love reading books with short stories in them and this one sounded like it would fit the bill. It looked like it would be super funny AND it was Canadian (ish … Kelly now lives in California), two things I love, but while some of the stories were laugh out loud funny, some were just okay. Kelly is super snarky and drops the f-bomb a lot, but I found the stories grew tired after a while. I hear she has a blog and most people got the book after reading her blog, but I wasn’t one of those people. I might check out her blog in the future, but this book was just okay for me.

shopaholic to the starts

Shopaholic to the Stars (Shopaholic, #7) by Sophie Kinsella

OK, so I kind of love the Shopaholic series. It was one of those first series that I read pre-blog and it made me fall in love with Sophies writing. That being said, I do think that this series is getting a little old. Becky is one of those people who doesn’t seem to think or learn anything and it would be nice to see her not be do dim-witted as the series goes on. But she just gets sillier and sillier. So yeah. While I do still love Sophie’s writing, I feel like this series should be done and she should concentrate maybe on another series or more standalone books.

Have you read any of these books? What were your thoughts? 

signature-01

 

8 thoughts on “{Review Catch-Up} A Whole Bunch of Mini Reviews

  1. Very happy you enjoyed Anne of Green Gables so much. Waaaaay back in college my now sister-in-law introduced us to the film, which I love (it and Anne of Avonlea…cannot stand the third made-up film). I then read all the books and will occasionally pull various volumes out to re-read. They are such delightful stories, and particularly wonderful for book lovers.

  2. OH ANNE!! Isn’t she a delight? Heh, she does talk a lot and sometimes about very ditzy things, but how could you not love her? I hope you get to read the next books in her adventures soon. I also recommend the movie!

    • Awesome! I’ll be looking into the movie … and hopefully get to the next book soon! I love that Hoopla has them on audio … the next time I’m doing a lot of driving, I’ll be sure to load it up!

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

