{My Thoughts On} My True Love Gave To Me, edited by Stephanie Perkins

my true love gave to meTalk about highly anticipated books! When the holidays roll around, I *love* reading holiday-themed books. I’m not sure why, since I live in Canada and we get a ton of snow, so the mood is there, AND I love Christmas, so the decorations and Christmas tree are always spot on. Plus, there’s the Christmas carols on the radio and all that good cheer going around. Do I really need MORE of a holiday boost this time of year?

Either way, it’s still super exciting to find the next best holiday book — and it’s even MORE exciting when it’s a book by various authors, most of whom I already love! Short stories are great, too, since I can read one before bed or in the morning before the boy gets up and I don’t have to remember all those plot points and what’s really going on when I pick it up again.

The unfortunate part about a collection of short stories, though, is that I’m not going to like ALL the stories in the book, but that’s just a given. I’m sure I’m not the only one! So I’m going to run down my quick thoughts on all the stories in this book that took me half a month to read … what can I say, it’s the holidays! Things were busy.

Midnights by Rainbow Rowell (Verdict: LOVE!)

I wouldn’t consider myself a HUGE Rainbow Rowell fan, but she’s growing on me. This story was the perfect way to start off the book with a countdown of midnights with two friends. More New Years-y than Christmas-y but definitely hit me in the feels.

The Lady and the Fox by Kelly Link (Verdict: Meh)

Right off the bat I wanted to love every story in the book, but this one was just … strange. It was one of those stories where I just didn’t connect with or care about anyone, unfortunately.

Angels in the Snow by Matt de la Pena (Verdict: Liked It)

I think my problem with the last story was that it was just to fantastical … this one was not. It was more modern day, boy meets girl kind of story. It was cute.

Polaris is Where You’ll Find Me by Jenny Han (Verdict: Meh)

So I loved Jenny’s Summer series and expected to love this story, but again it was just too fantastical for me. In the beginning it made me think of Elf, but it was just a little too boring and vague for me.

It’s a Yuletide Miracle, Charlie Brown by Stephanie Perkins (Verdict: LOVE!)

OK, even though I was NOT a fan of Isla and the Happily Ever After, I loved this story. I kind of expected to hate it, thinking Stephanie was losing her touch with writing, but it was just such a sweet story! I loved that the two main characters met at a tree lot and then spent the evening together decorating and making things Christmas-y … I loved both of the main characters and how cute they were around one another. Just such a sweet story.

Your Temporary Santa by David Levithan (Verdict: Meh)

I think this is a story I just didn’t quite get. I haven’t read a lot of David Levithan’s books and I do appreciate the LGBT story being included, but there was just a lot of angst in this one.

Krampuslauf by Holly Black (Verdict: Meh)

What the hell did I just read? This one was just weird for me … and about the part of the book where I stalled since I read two ‘meh’ stories in a row. Maybe I just don’t appreciate fantasy stories, but I just didn’t like this one. It was kind of on the same level as The Lady and the Fox.

What the Hell Have You Done, Sophie Roth? by Gayle Forman (Verdict: LOVE!)

Again, wasn’t a huge fan of Gayle’s last book, but this story was so cute!

Beer Buckets and Baby Jesus by Myra McEntire (Verdict: Liked it)

I really liked this one. It was fun!

Welcome to Christmas, CA by Kiersten White (Verdict: Liked it)

This one was kind of fun … the story of a girl who works in a restaurant in Christmas, CA. They get a new chef who just seems to know what people want. It brings back memories for people and helps them realize what they should be doing in life. I thought it was cute.

Star of Bethlehem by Ally Carter (Verdict: LOVE … but wanted more)

This was one of those short stories that would be WAY better as a full-length novel. I loved the story of two girls switching plane tickets, but then the ending was way too rushed and happy. I wanted this story to be drawn out more. It was really, really good until the crazy rushed ending.

The Girl Who Woke the Dreamer by Laini Taylor (Verdict: Meh)

OK, I know I’m the black sheep with this one, but maybe it’s a fantasy thing again. I loved one of Laini’s books so I know she’s a good writer, but I honestly skimmed through this one. Everyone had been raving about it, so I wanted it to be good, but I just couldn’t get into it. It was one of those stories that didn’t have me connected at all and I think I was more annoyed reading it.

So there you have it …. Mostly, I think I liked the collection. It was nice to look back on the stories and actually remember what they were about, since sometimes I’ll read through short stories and have those that really stand out and then others that I don’t even remember reading.

Even though the collection wasn’t AS good as I thought it was going to be (less fantasy, more romance maybe?) I still enjoyed reading it. Like I said, it was fun to devour a short story here and there and discover some authors I had never heard of. And I do have to say that the cover is CRAZY good. It’s just so eye catching and beautiful that I couldn’t NOT have a physical copy of the book. I think the cover is my favourite part!

Have you read this collection? What did you think? What are some of your favourite holiday books?

signature-01

 

4 thoughts on “{My Thoughts On} My True Love Gave To Me, edited by Stephanie Perkins

  1. I liked the way you rated each story. It looks like a good book for the holidays when we are sometimes too busy to get into a whole novel. I’m going to keep this one in mind for next year.

  2. Yeah, my opinions varied a little from yours (I preferred the White to the Carter) but I definitely agree that the realistic romances were much stronger than the fantastical ones. I think for something like that a short story is harder to make work than a full length novel as there’s so little space for world-building and so on. You’re right that none of them were actively bad, though.

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

