Happy New Year, a rant about bookish problems, and my bookish goals for the New Year

Happy New Year

Happy New Year from little ol’ me at Reading In Winter!

2014 was a bit of a different year for me because I had my new little guy (well, new as of 2013). I didn’t know what kind of time I would have for blogging so I prepared a CRAPload of posts to schedule since I assumed I’d have NO time for blogging.

Well, halfway through the year that got thrown out the window because I was itching to blog, but had no open spots to blog in!

Dilemma!

I had so much fun blogging this past year and was happy to see that I could work it into my life, along with all the other new things that had come along! I’m really hoping that 2015 will be even BETTER with blogging! Maybe I can finally get my mojo back. πŸ™‚

Anyway, with the new year comes so many problems for me. Here are just a few:

1. My Haphazard Bookshelves

So, this past year I went through a few phases in my home library. I went from wanting to do the different coloured book spines thing … which didn’t really pan out. Then I decided to divide my books by books read and books unread … which basically led to books being piled on top of one another. When I wanted to find something it was such a chore, since I knew that I *owned* the book, but I couldn’t find the damn thing. So happy my husband took over all the childrearing on Tuesday so I could give my library a good cleaning and organizing! I boxed up a bunch of my non-fiction books that were just taking up space and tried to work out some better storage for my tea stuff which was also taking up a lot of space. All my books are alphabetical again, which I love!

Of course, I could’ve done this over the span of a week or so, but I was DETERMINED to get it done before the new year so I could concentrate on reading!

2. The Dilemma That is The First Book of the Year

WHY IS IT SO HARD TO FIND THAT FIRST BOOK?!? I have a *lot* of books at the ready — close to 700, if you include everything on my ereaders — yet it took a good week to decide what book should be that first read of the year, since I feel like that book sets the precidence for the WHOLE year!

What have my previous first books been?

2012 – Night Road by Kristin Hannah (So, so good!)
2013 – Shark Bait (Grab Your Pole) by Jenn Cooksley (Very cute!)
2014 – The Rosie Project by Graeme Simsion (AWESOME!)

This year, I KNEW I couldn’t go wrong with this one:

the body electric

I LOVE Beth Revis, so I’m really hoping this one doesn’t disappoint!

3. Yeah, I Love Physical Books, But Everything Else Must Be Ready!

So yeah, I have over 300 physical books to read at home, but I had to be sure that both of my ereaders were charged, too. Not like their charge is going to last the whole year, but it seems like whenever I go to read a book on either of them, the battery is dead. This year I will be determined to keep them charged at all times!

Not only that, but I went through ALL of my physical books AND my ereaders and made a spreadsheet of everything I need to read. I plan to print it out and have it at the ready! That way, when I’m on my ereader, or finding a book on my shelf, I don’t have to fuss about going online to see if the book I want to read is the first or second in a series, or the fifth or ninth … I can just go to my spreadsheet and look it up! Simple.

I’ve been likening the new year to a new school year … everything has to be charged, my book journal (which I hope to keep this year) must be ready with freshly sharpened pencils, my books have to be in order and the shelves cleaned, spreadsheets have to be all ready to go … it’s exciting!

4. And Speaking of Keeping Things Charged, The Blog Must Be Ready!Β 

In the past week or so, I had been working on the same two books (finally managed to fit in one more book at the end of the month!), so in our TV time, when I wasn’t crocheting, of course, I’d be updating the blog! Making sure my archives were all up to date, all my other pages were up to date, making sure I had my menus ready for the new year, and making sure that I had anything for 2015 at the ready! It’s funny because last year I wanted to have everything planned and scheduled and now this year I’ll be going more by the seat of my pants … and I’m looking forward to it!

5. And Lastly, The Bookish Resolution I Make Every Year …Β 

BUY LESS BOOKS! Is it ever possible? I do love my local library, but I am TERRIBLE with the 3 week thing. Not only that, but I have a LOT of books, like I said, here that I can read, so why bother right now? I did preorder a bunch of new releases from next year, but I really hope to buy a lot less this year. I don’t need to have months where I buy 30+ books, but I could range it from 2-5. I mean, that’s MUCH more doable.

Of course, I say this every year and never ever keep it, so all I can do is try, right?

On the same note, I want to add that I am going to try my darndest to JUST SAY NO! To review books, that is! I actually didn’t do too bad this past year, but goshdarnit, I like reading what I want when I want and I feel like review books just mess up that plan and make me anxious. I may make exceptions if it’s something I’m really, really, really looking forward to, but then I might just preorder a finished copy.

My 2015 Reading Goals

Read 100 books

Keep on top of the blog once a week (at least!)

Find the time to read — even if it’s just a few minutes a day!

Interact with my blogging friends on social media more! Devote at least 10 minutes a day to interaction and not just reading what everyone else is saying.

Devote at least 10-20 minutes to blog reading and replying.

Keep my home library organized!!

When I love a book, I will share, share, share it!

Read more Canada! Try to accomplish at least one of my Canada challenges.

Take time to NOT read if I want to — play the piano, or crochet, or take a nap! Spend time playing with the boy, or cuddling with the husband, or even learning a new recipe!

Read more with my little boy! Devote at least 20 minutes of daytime hours to reading (since he gets lots of stories before bed, too).

What are some of the problems you have as a reader when the new year hits? Do you have any bookish goals for 2015?Β 

signature-01

17 thoughts on “Happy New Year, a rant about bookish problems, and my bookish goals for the New Year

  1. Happy new year Kristilyn! (glad to see a new post from you!) πŸ˜‰ All really great goals. I’m going to be thinking about mine for next Top Ten Tuesday but I would LOVE to be able to get ahead in my drafts. It seems like it’s always a battle between reading/writing posts/commenting and sadly a lot of times the last two lose, especially commenting. That’s amazing that you had nearly half a year worth of posts after baby!

    Hope it’s a really great year for you! And good luck with the book buying. I’ve been much better lately because I just don’t have the room anymore, but that doesn’t help with the ebooks. Those invisible shelves…

    • I rarely write drafts these days … normally I’m lucky if I can plan the next week in blog posts! I’m trying not to stress about it. Lol … I actually had a YEAR’S worth of posts planned after baby, but congested it all into a few months when I decided enough was enough. It’s so much nicer doing everything live now instead of having everything scheduled. Scheduling a year in advance is good in theory, but not so much when you’re living it …

      Those invisible shelves indeed! I think I have something like 400 ebooks … ha ha … I did manage to go to two stores today that have books, took a look, and left with nothing. Not bad!

  2. Happy New Year, Kristilyn! (And family!) I’m so sorry for your families loss in December 😦 But otherwise, 2014 treated you well, friend!! I actually just organized my bookshelves by colour! It was a HUGE job, but I love it (granted, I don’t have as many books as you though!). It’s also really hard to find anything on it, but oh well lol!

    Great goals for 2015! I have no doubt you will be able to keep them all πŸ™‚

  3. Argh, I feel you on the first book always being a problem… it’s always so hard to take the plunge. Hope your first read of 2015 is a success with you πŸ™‚ it’s a book I’m also looking forward to reading.

  4. Ooh, I feel you on the first books of the year thing! I also like my last book of the year to be something special as well. Very curious to hear what you think of The Body Electric and if it’s as good as AtU because I freaking love that series!

    Excellent, excellent goals as well. And they’re very doable. Here’s to a great year of reading and relaxing in 2015!

  5. I feel you on the pressure of choosing the first book of the year. I ended up reading The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern and it was a great choice. Hope yours was as well!

    I am also trying to buy fewer books this year. I own so many books already that I really don’t need to buy any more. And my local library is great – they give you a month for most books (2 weeks for new releases) and you can generally renew them a couple of times.

    Good luck with your goals!

    • The Night Circus is awesome!! Loved that one!

      I do love the local library but I tend to take out a lot of new releases, so I can rarely renew them. :/ I have a TON of books on my shelves, though, so my goal is to read more of them this year!

    • I tend to go soooooo long between reading books on my ereader that even with turning it off, it still dies! I’ll have to be more diligent. I’ve been trying to alternated between physical and ebooks — so far so good!

  6. 2013 was also Baby Year to me and i should have prepared better. Because I didn’t I was away from blogging for almost one and a half years. Hey, I bought less books, so that’s good, right? We also try to do at least 20m of reading a day, mostly his 3 favorite books πŸ™‚

    • Buying less books is good! Even with baby I failed on that account … lol. My guy is great for the first half of a book then he wants to try something new … at bedtime he’s good and wants to read ALL his books.

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

