Sunday Reading & Weekly Update (#1)

sunday reading

One of the joys of starting up a blog again is getting everything updated. Oh, did I say joy? I meant “pain in the ass.” I’ve been blogging since 2009 and have absolutely NOT desire to update EVERYTHING, but certain things can’t be avoided, especially since Reading In Winter used to have its own domain and now it doesn’t. What does this mean? Well, it means that one of the pages I use the most, my reading archives, doesn’t work – all the links point to http://www.readinginwinter.com posts, whereas they’re all now http://www.readinginwinter.WORDPRESS.com. Seriously, pain in the freaking ass.

However, it’s not such a bad thing as I’m realizing. Now I’m organizing my reading archives a little better, so they’re easier for me to search. Series books are organized by series, authors are now bolded for better searching, and I’m trying to keep ALL reviews in one spot, with one page and ONLY one page – no page for audiobooks, another page for graphic novels, etc. It’s taking time, since I have to search for some reviews on Goodreads from the past two years (all reviews from my hiatus blog, A Little Time to Read, were moved there), and some reviews from Reading In Winter weren’t exactly posted with a blog title with searching in mind, but it’s getting there.

And I can watch Outlander while I do it! So far I’ve made it to the end of the ‘g’ section. I’ll be sooo happy when it’s done!

Another thing I’m trying to not focus too much on is the format of my “reviews.” I’ve always been someone who likes to share their general thoughts on books, rather than getting too specific with the details of the book itself (like the publisher, synopsis, links to Goodreads or Amazon, etc.). As I write new book thoughts, I’m just doing that, writing my thoughts. It makes it so much less tedious since I can just them up and set a date to publish.

I also made a point of updating all my reviews on Goodreads, though I’m not totally done yet. I got into this habit at one point of just putting a link to a review on this blog, so now I’ve added full reviews. Took a while, but I’m glad it’s done!

PS – If you followed me over at A Little Time To Read you’ll notice I snagged my Sunday photo … I loved it too much to pass it up!


This last week has been a pretty good week, reading wise! I was happy to see that I had passed the 75 books read mark, which is freaking awesome. Despite the fact that I’m working on blog things a lot more right now, updating links and such, I feel like I’ve found some stride with reading. And audiobooks are a saving grace!

Here’s what happened this week …

Added to the shelf:ย 

  • Ellie Jordan: Ghost Trapper by J. L. Bryan (Kindle freebie)
  • Dog With A Bone (Black Dog, #1) by Hailey Edwards
  • Time Thief (Anomaly, #1) by Anna Hackett (Kindle freebie)
  • Sacrificed to the Dragon (Stonefire British Dragons, #1) by Jessie Donovan (Kindle freebie)
  • Harry Potter and the Cursed Child (Harry Potter, #8) by J. K. Rowling

Currently Reading:ย 

  • Ellie Jordan: Ghost Trapper by J. L. Bryan (Ebook)
  • Truly Madly Guilty by Liane Moriarty (Hardcover)

Finished This Week:ย 

  • Lord John and the Hand of Devils (Lord John, #0.5, #1.5, #2.5) by Diana Gabaldon
  • Bound by Flames (Night Prince, #3) by Jeaniene Frost (Audiobook)
  • Harry Potter and the Cursed Child (Harry Potter, #8) by J. K. Rowling
  • Lord John and the Brotherhood of the Blade (Lord John, #2) by Diana Gabaldon
  • The Custom of the Army (Lord John, #2.75) by Diana Gabaldon
  • The Diviners (The Diviners, #1) by Libba Bray (Audiobook)
  • Wake (Watersong, #1) by Amanda Hocking (Audiobook)
  • Five Summers by Una LaMarche (Audiobook)

Blog Posts:

  1. Changes, Beginnings, Continuations, & So Forth (<– my “I’m back!” post)
  2. [Book Talk] Harry Potter and the Cursed Child (Harry Potter, #8) by J. K. Rowling

And that’s it for now! Have a happy bookish week!

2 thoughts on “Sunday Reading & Weekly Update (#1)

  1. A little late but welcome back, Momma!! Yes, the link thing is a complete pain in the buttocks but it does give you something to do while watching TV (????) Although watching Outlander??? I’d be too distracted. Sports, like that Olympics, that I can do ๐Ÿ™‚

    I need to pick up my copy of Moriarty’s latest. Time, time, time… I have none!!!

    Nice to see your post in my email again! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Ha ha … I’m lucky I’ve watched Outlander already, so it’s just a rewatch for me. It’s very motivating for me to sit down and get things done on the blog with a good show like that. ๐Ÿ™‚

      I’m slooooowly working my way through Moriarty’s latest. It’s good, but very slow. And I got absorbed in a different series in the meantime. Oops!

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

