[Book Talk] Ellie Jordan: Ghost Trapper (Ellie Jordan: Ghost Trapper, #1) by J. L. Bryan

ellie jordanBook Details

Format: Ebook
Source: Kindle freebie
Read: August 2016

Ellie Jordan: Ghost Trapper series

  1. Ellie Jordan: Ghost Trapper

Synopsis:

Ellie Jordan’s job is to catch and remove unwanted ghosts. Part detective, part paranormal exterminator, Ellie operates out of Savannah, Georgia, one of the oldest and most haunted cities in North America.

When a family contacts her to deal with a disturbing presence in the old mansion they’ve recently purchased, Ellie first believes it to be a typical, by-the-book specter, a residual haunting by a restless spirit. Instead, she finds herself confronting an evil older and more powerful than she’d ever expected, rooted in the house’s long and sordid history of luxury, sin, and murder. The dangerous entity seems particularly interested in her clients’ ten-year-old daughter.

Soon her own life is in danger, and Ellie must find a way to exorcise the darkness of the house before it can kill her, her clients, or their frightened young child.

My Thoughts

Oh my gosh, I LOVE ghosts. Does that sound morbid? A friend of mine has given me some ghost stories from her own home and, honestly, I feel like I would want to move if those things happened in my own home, but I love READING about ghost stories. Do you remember all those books about haunted places? We have them in Canada and there’d be Haunted Alberta or Haunted Hotels or the like and I gobbled them up. Even through all my book culls, I’ve kept those books because every once in a while I love reading through them.

J. L. Bryan had been sending me an ARC for each book in this series since it came out, but I had been in this place where I wasn’t really reading review books and I was well behind reading any books in my own pile (not to mention raising a toddler and being pregnant) so I glanced at the emails and never did put any of the books on my kindle. As the months went on I kept seeing reviews for the various books in this series and they were all glowing and gushing reviews. Then, at the end of last month, I got another email from Jeff with the latest book in the series, book 7, and I thought enough was enough – I had to check out these books! I went onto Amazon and saw the first book was up for free, so I downloaded it.

Can I just say that J. L. Bryan is a freaking master at writing horror? I started reading this book late one night (okay, late for me, which was, like, 8pm. I’m a mom.) in bed, in the dark, and I was terrified! My heart was just pounding and pounding as I read and this was the one rare night where the husband said he was going to watch TV for a bit (because the Olympics, i.e. SPORTS!) so it was just me in the dark until I fell asleep.

At a few points during that first 20% I got through that first night, I did wonder if I should put the book down and pick up something happy and light, but I persevered. I had to know more about the Treadwell home and the ghosts that were haunting it! And I love, love, loved Ellie. She is a badass ghost hunter and will do ANYTHING to get the job done. I loved her and Stacey together and felt like they had great chemistry. I want to know more about Jacob, the new guy, and maybe there will be something going on between him and Ellie or Stacey later on in the series??

I think the thing I loved about this book is that it actually scared me. I don’t scare easily with horror books, but I kind of love how indie authors do it. They don’t pile on the unnecessary information and have pages and pages of detail and scenery. They get right to the point, right to the scares, and right to the good stuff that has the hair on the back of your neck stand on edge. This is reminiscent of Karina Halle’s Experiments in Terror series, which I also adore, and I’m kind of glad that I started it now, with 6 more books ahead of me to read. I can’t wait to get to the next one!

This book had the perfect amount of action and background on ghost hunting. There were some super creepy scenes and I honestly don’t know how the next books will top this one, but I know they will. I absolutely loved Jeff’s Jenny Pox series so if this one is going to be anything like that one, I will eat it up and love it! I’ve already downloaded the next book and plan to start it in bed tonight – because sometimes with an amazing horror series, you have to read them in the appropriate surroundings!

(Note: This book was a FREE offering from Amazon! And even though Jeff had sent me the ARCs for the books in the series, I plan to buy them as I go along, to get the finished copies. Support your favourite authors!)

5 thoughts on “[Book Talk] Ellie Jordan: Ghost Trapper (Ellie Jordan: Ghost Trapper, #1) by J. L. Bryan

  1. Pingback: [Book Talk] Cold Shadows (Ellie Jordan: Ghost Trapper, #2) by J. L. Bryan | Reading In Winter

  2. Pingback: Sunday Reading & Weekly Update (#2) | Reading In Winter

  3. Pingback: [Book Talk] The Crawling Darkness (Ellie Jordan: Ghost Trapper, #3) by J. L. Bryan | Reading In Winter

  4. Pingback: [Book Talk] Terminal (Ellie Jordan: Ghost Trapper, #4) by J. L. Bryan | Reading In Winter

  5. Pingback: [Book Talk] Maze of Souls (Ellie Jordan: Ghost Trapper, #6) by J. L. Bryan | Reading In Winter

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

