[Book Talk] Five Summers by Una LaMarche (Audiobook)

five summersBook Details:

Format: Audiobook
Source: Borrowed
Listened: August 2016

Synopsis:

Four best friends, five summers of camp memories

Emma, Skylar, Jo, and Maddie have all come back to camp for a weekend of tipsy canoe trips to the island, midnight skinny dipping in the lake, and an epic game of capture the flag—boys versus girls. But the weekend isn’t quite as sunwashed as they’d imagined as the memories come flooding back. . . .

The summer we were nine: Emma was branded “Skylar’s friend Emma” by the infamous Adam Loring . . .
The summer we were ten: Maddie realized she was too far into her lies to think about telling the truth . . .
The summer we were eleven: Johanna totally freaked out during her first game of Spin the Bottle . . .
The summer we were twelve: Skylar’s love letters from her boyfriend back home were exciting to all of us—except Skylar . . .
Our last summer together: Emma and Adam almost kissed. Jo found out Maddie’s secret. Skylar did something unthinkable . . . and whether we knew it then or not, five summers of friendship began to fall apart.

A young adult book with a friendship story that will last long after the last s’more is gone.

My Thoughts

I love summer books. When I read too many serious books, or long books, or heavy books, it’s just nice to bust out something light to read or listen to. This book is one that I’ve had on my shelf for a bit now (I think I got it from Raincoast books, but I can’t be sure – it’s a finished copy, not an ARC) so it was due time that I read it. I downloaded the audiobook from the library, popped it onto my phone, and listened to the entire thing in one day while I ran all the errands and made roughly 1,000 hamburgers (okay, 42, but still).

First off, I loved the narrator for the story, Abigail Revasch. She did a perfect job of all the different characters, male and female alike, and had such perfect pacing that I managed to double the speed and still listen comfortably!

I’m not sure I thought this when I was younger, but now that I’m in my mid-thirties I wish that I had had the experience of going to sleepaway camp. I would have loved to have more outdoor experience, to have learned to canoe or swim better or just be less shy. I’m sure I would’ve hated it when I was younger, but maybe I would’ve grown to love it. At any rate, it was fun to go away to camp in a book! This book was very reminiscent of Ann Brashares’s The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants and scandalous things DO happen, but I had to keep in mind that these aren’t 14 year olds. Instead, this is a reunion for old campers (well, if 17 is old).

I also had to remind myself that I am an adult. These are teenagers. The things that drove me crazy in the book – like some of the issues Emma and Skylar had – isn’t something that would happen to me these days, but when I think of it, it’s totally a teenager thing. I also think it helped that I listened to the book entirely in one day. Had I spread it out over a few days I might have gotten bored with the childhood antics and might have lost interest in the characters. Taking it as a summer day read, during one of those times when I wouldn’t have been able to read a book, it was good!

My only real gripe with the story was listening to it versus reading it. The story is told in both past and present from four different people. When you can’t flip back in the pages to keep track of who is talking about what and when, it’s a little difficult, but I did get the gist of it all. It’s one of those light stories where you have to keep track, but if you lose your spot for a few minutes, you’ll figure it out.

Anyway, this was a fun read! Like I said, it made me long for camp days in my youth, and maybe for a cabin by the lake now in my adulthood. At any rate, it’s always nice to knock one off the TBR list!

One thought on “[Book Talk] Five Summers by Una LaMarche (Audiobook)

  1. Pingback: Sunday Reading & Weekly Update (#2) | Reading In Winter

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

