[Book Talk] Cold Shadows (Ellie Jordan: Ghost Trapper, #2) by J. L. Bryan

cold shadowsBook Details:

Format: Ebook
Source: Purchased
Read: August 2016

Ellie Jordan: Ghost Trapper series

  1. Ellie Jordan: Ghost Trapper
  2. Cold Shadows

Synopsis:

Footsteps in the attic. Toys that play by themselves. A dark presence in an upstairs room.

Paranormal investigator Ellie Jordan faces a difficult new case. Her new clients are a family haunted by multiple ghosts and a poltergeist that wrecks their home at night. Their seven-year-old son’s invisible friends may not be imaginary at all, but the restless spirits of dead children.

To clear her clients’ house of the dangerous entities, Ellie must unravel the mysterious deaths of another family who lived in the old mansion more than a hundred and sixty years ago—and she must do it before the ghosts can carry out their malevolent designs on her clients and their children.

My Thoughts

This is book #2 in the series – read my thoughts on the first book, Ellie Jordan: Ghost Trapper, HERE.

Do you ever have those series that eat your soul? Like, you start reading the first book and you pretty much can’t do anything else in life until you’ve read the whole series? That’s turning into me with this series. I am LOVING every second of reading it!

Stories first … when I started reading this book on Monday night, it’s like everything was trying to creep me out. The baby usually sleeps pretty good, getting up around 3 or 4 for a feed, but isn’t usually fussy. This night, though, she was up from about 10:15-12:45 SUPER angry. Maybe it was the book, but I was creeped out being in her room, rocking her back to sleep. In between her getting up, one of our dogs, who has to sleep on the main floor of the house with the light on, was trying frantically to barrel her way through the baby gate at the bottom of the stairs to get upstairs. There was no storm, no loud noises outside, really nothing to get her anxious. Naturally, in my head, I figured the culprit must have been ghosts for both of their unusual sleep patterns.

I mean, NATURALLY.

Anyway, this series is freaking awesome. I love how we get bits and pieces on ghost hunting in each book and it’s not just an info dump or anything. I also love how we get history mixed in with the present day hauntings. In order for Ellie and Stacey to trap a ghost, they have to know something about it. I mean, how do you expect to trap some random ghost in a house without knowing its history? We also get some truly terrifying situations. Honestly, after the first book, I didn’t know how any other book in the series could be better, but they are. Just in this second book, the ghosts and hauntings are so much different than those we encountered in the first book, and it makes me wonder just how terrifying it will get!

I also love that we slowly get history on Ellie herself, who had lost her parents years ago. She’s clearly fighting her own demons and it’s nice to get some of her history while the story is told. AND could Ellie and Stacey find love in this series? Who knows? But do you know who’s going to gobble up the series to find out? Me! And you should, too! J. L. Bryan really is a master at whatever he writes and I’m so happy to have started this spooky series. It was just what I needed! I’m also really enjoying going into each book without knowing what’s going to happen. I mean, it’s J. L. Bryan – do I really need to read the synopsis to know it’ll be amazing? Of course not!

Now I’m definitely looking forward to starting the third book tonight!

4 thoughts on “[Book Talk] Cold Shadows (Ellie Jordan: Ghost Trapper, #2) by J. L. Bryan

  1. Pingback: Sunday Reading & Weekly Update (#2) | Reading In Winter

  2. Pingback: [Book Talk] The Crawling Darkness (Ellie Jordan: Ghost Trapper, #3) by J. L. Bryan | Reading In Winter

  3. Pingback: [Book Talk] Terminal (Ellie Jordan: Ghost Trapper, #4) by J. L. Bryan | Reading In Winter

  4. Pingback: [Book Talk] Maze of Souls (Ellie Jordan: Ghost Trapper, #6) by J. L. Bryan | Reading In Winter

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

