Sunday Reading & Weekly Update (#2)

sunday reading

This week was to be my week to prepare for a big event – a first birthday! Naturally, I felt very little motivation to do this. I mean, I was looking forward to her party, but what’s the point of cleaning all week when the kids are just going to mess it up? And any food would have to wait to be made on Friday or Saturday morning (though I did listen to an audiobook while preparing ALL the hamburgers last weekend). Little things got done all week, but nothing major … so my blog updating and Outlander watching continued! Since I still had lots of updates to do to get Reading In Winter back up and running, it only made sense. And it was really nice to rewatch my favourite show!

13913875_10153859261871417_6840696672408155053_o

My super spoiled, freaking adorable little girl who really is this happy all the time.

We had little girl’s birthday yesterday and it went so well! I learned I can fit 25 people in my home, even with crazy kids running around! Baby started walking really good in the last week so she cruised around lots, ate all day, and by the end of the day her cute little white dress looked like it took a bath in watermelon juice. Thank goodness for stain remover!

This week I got an email notification from a local library saying my card was expiring. I am so on the fence about renewing. I love this library and worked at it for a few years. Having no expiry date was the best thing about working there, but since it’s kind of out of the way now, paying $30 to renew seems like so much! I recently bought a library card for the town closest to me, the town where my son will be going to preschool, which only makes sense since we’ll be there more often during the week. That being said, it would be nice, since our lives are going to get a little more structured and busy, to have an afternoon out by myself to the library, maybe. Though, THAT being said, I tend to read a lot more ebooks and listen to more audiobooks from this particular library than get physical books. So I’m still not sure. I know, I know, if I rented just two audiobooks from them it would pay for the renewal fee, but just getting that reminder made me feel sad that I don’t work at the library and I kind of miss it.


Here’s what happened this week …

Added to the shelf: 

  • Fairy Metal Thunder (Songs of Magic, #1) by J. L. Bryan (kindle freebie)
  • Cold Shadows (Ellie Jordan, Ghost Trapper, #2) by J. L. Bryan (ebook) READ
  • City of the Lost (Casey Duncan, #1) by Kelley Armstrong (ebook)
  • Veiled (Ada Palomino, #1) by Karina Halle (ebook)
  • The Crawling Darkness (Ellie Jordan, Ghost Trapper, #3) by J. L. Bryan (ebook)
  • Omens (Cainsville, #1) by Kelley Armstrong (audiobook) (<– I’ve read the book, but it was finished when I had Lucas back in 2013 and for the life of me I have no idea what happened. I got the audiobook so I can reread it and continue with the series!) LISTENED
  • Terminal (Ellie Jordan, Ghost Trapper, #4) by J. L. Bryan (ebook)

Currently Reading: 

  • The Crawling Darkness (Ellie Jordan, Ghost Trapper, #3) by J. L. Bryan (Ebook)
  • Truly Madly Guilty by Liane Moriarty (Hardcover) (<– this is good and I’m still interested, but clearly I’ve been taken by a new book series that MUST BE READ.)

Finished This Week: 

  • Ellie Jordan, Ghost Trapper (Ellie Jordan, Ghost Trapper, #1) by J. L. Bryan
  • Cold Shadows (Ellie Jordan, Ghost Trapper, #2) by J. L. Bryan
  • Omens (Cainsville, #1) by Kelley Armstrong (Audiobook + reread)

Blog Posts:

  1. [Book Talk] Ellie Jordan: Ghost Trapper (Ellie Jordan, Ghost Trapper, #1) by J. L. Bryan
  2. [Book Talk] Wake (Watersong, #1) by Amanda Hocking (Audiobook)
  3. [Book Talk] Five Summers by Una LaMarche (Audiobook)
  4. [Book Talk] Cold Shadows (Ellie Jordan, Ghost Trapper, #2) by J. L. Bryan
  5. [Book Talk] Emmy & Oliver by Robin Benway (Audiobook)

And that’s it for now! Have a happy bookish week!

2 thoughts on “Sunday Reading & Weekly Update (#2)

  1. Your daughter is adorable — happy birthday to her! I have to pay to use my favorite library, too, but it’s an 8-branch system with a ton of books, so it’s totally worthwhile. Our local county library is nice, but just doesn’t have a very wide selection of what I like to read… though it’s getting better.

    Enjoy your new books, and I hope you’re not sweltering in the heat!

    • I think once I’m able to take out physical books and actually get them read (something I’m terrible at) then I’ll get a card for that library again. As it is, I have a great selection of ebooks and audiobooks through the other two cards I have so it works for me. I’m happy to hear I’m not the only one paying! It always seems so weird to other people to have to pay for a library card!

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

