Bout of Books 17.0: Start-Up and Goal Post

Bout of Books
 From the Bout of Books blog:

The Bout of Books read-a-thon is organized by Amanda @ On a Book Bender and Kelly @ Reading the Paranormal. It is a week long read-a-thon that begins 12:01am Monday, August 22nd and runs through Sunday, August 28th in whatever time zone you are in. Bout of Books is low-pressure. There are challenges, giveaways, and a grand prize, but all of these are completely optional. For all Bout of Books 17 information and updates, be sure to visit the Bout of Books blog. – From the Bout of Books team

How is it already Bout of Books 17???? I think I participated last year sometime, but I can’t remember! This month has been a good reading month, though not quite as good as the last few months, so I think I need that kick in the butt to read more at the end of the month. AND with my little boy starting school in September, I think it’ll be the perfect time for me to chill out whenever I can and just read!

Time Devoted to Reading

I have NO idea. My plan will be to devote my mornings (when the baby isn’t up early with me), the kids’ naptime, and before bed to reading. Plus I like to listen in the car, so if we’re out and about, I might get some listening done, too! I’ll aim for as much as I can, though with two littles under 3, it’s going to be played by ear!

My Goals

  • Read THREE books. If I got FIVE read, that would be awesome.
  • Participate in some of the challenges.
  • Cheer on and chat with my favourite people when I have the time.
  • Fit in reading where I can, but don’t stress about it since my kids are my top priority!
  • HAVE FUN!

Books to Read

Since I like to live by the “one ebook, one physical book, and one audiobook” rule of reading, I’m hoping to read at least two audiobooks, two physical books, and one ebook. I don’t really want to pick books right now since I’m very much a mood reader, but I’d love to knock some more books off my pre-2016 TBR pile! Currently I’m trying to #FinishTheSeries and #ReadMyOwnBooks so that’s what’s going to happen!

Are you participating in Bout of Books this month? 

6 thoughts on “Bout of Books 17.0: Start-Up and Goal Post

  1. I’m always tempted to do Bout of Books, if only to satisfy my curiosity about how much I could actually read if I dedicated myself to it (for a book blogger, I think I read less than most).

    The kicker for me is finding an interesting way to write about it. Do people care about me just tallying up what I’ve read? I dunno. If I’m going to blog about it I want people to be interested in it. Tempted to do a, “If I turned off my TV, computers, video games, etc for a week and just read, what would that be like” kind of piece. What do you think?

  2. Pingback: Sunday Reading & Weekly Update (#3) | Reading In Winter

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

