[Book Talk] Lullaby (Watersong, #2) by Amanda Hocking (Audiobook)

lullabyBook Details:

Format: Audiobook
Source: Borrowed
Listened: August 2016

The Watersong Quartet series

  1. Wake
  2. Lullaby

Synopsis:

Don’t miss the next chapter of Watersong, a bold new series that will enchant you, entrance you, and hold you captive under its spell

Now that Gemma Fisher has inherited Penn, Lexi, and Thea’s curse – and all the strange new powers that come along with it – she has no choice but to run away with them. Devastated that she has to leave everyone she loves behind, she’s still determined not to give in to the unspeakable hungers that plague her.

Unfortunately, they’re growing stronger every day, and she’s not sure how much longer she can resist.

Harper won’t give up on finding her sister Gemma, vowing to get her back no matter what the cost. The search draws her closer to too-gorgeous-for-his-own-good Daniel, and tests her fiercely guarded independence like never before. She’s always been the strong one who everyone else depends on…. Can she let herself depend on Daniel?

As Gemma and Harper plunge deeper into a magical world they barely understand, it becomes painfully clear that Gemma’s old life may be lost forever. But can she still hold on to her humanity?

My Thoughts

I’m never sure what I’m going to think when I read the second book in a series. YA series can be tricky because the stories tend to be broken up so much that there’s always cliffhangers and some books seem more like filler books than a full story on its own. I definitely have my preference – I’d rather read a book that seems like an entire story on its own, rather than just a part of a big story.

The Watersong series is definitely one BIG story, rather than a quartet of four stories that fit together. Therefore, this book does have moments of being the “second book” rather than something new and exciting, like the first book was. Harper is on a mission to save Gemma and we’re still learning more about these beautiful girls, these sirens, that might be beautiful, but are also very dangerous.

I liked the romance in the story and look forward to more of it in the next books, and I liked the suspense of what was going to happen. I liked Gemma’s determination to not give up everything and just become what she’s now destined to be, but thought some of her actions were foolish and not really thought out.

Still, this was a good book to listen to and I still really like the narrator (probably more so this book since Penn doesn’t talk as much in her baby-ish voice). I wish my library would get the next book in audio version since I think I prefer reading them that way. It left on another definite cliffhanger, so I can’t wait to see what happens next in the series! I do hope that the next book is a little more action-packed than this one and that we start getting some resolution to the story. I’m not sure what I would do if I were in Gemma’s situation (wouldn’t that be crazy if we could be in her shoes??) so I guess I’ll just have to wait and see what she does!

3 thoughts on “[Book Talk] Lullaby (Watersong, #2) by Amanda Hocking (Audiobook)

  1. 2nd books in ANY series are always tricky. I have found if there is a strong 1rst book I have to temper my expectations for book 2. Guess you are going to have to see what she is up to next 🙂

    • Isn’t it alway great though, when you prepare yourself for second book syndrome and that book completely and wildly exceeds your expectations? I love those books! Hopefully book three will do that …

  2. Pingback: Sunday Reading & Weekly Update (#3) | Reading In Winter

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

