[Book Talk] Goddess of The Hunt (The Wanton Dairymaid Trilogy, #1) by Tessa Dare

goddess of the huntBook Details

Format: Paperback
Source: Purchased
Read: August 2016

The Wanton Dairymaid series

  1. Goddess of the Hunt

Synopsis:

In this lush and seductive novel, exciting new author Tessa Dare takes desire to brazen heights.

Ever the bold adventuress, Lucy Waltham has decided to go hunting for a husband. But first she needs some target practice. So she turns to her brother’s best friend, Jeremy Trescott, the Earl of Kendall, to hone her seductive wiles on him before setting her sights on another man. But her practice kisses spark a smoldering passion–one that could send all her plans up in smoke.

Jeremy has an influential title, a vast fortune, and a painful past full of long-buried secrets. He keeps a safe distance from his own emotions, but to distract Lucy from her reckless scheming, he must give his passions free rein. Their sensual battle of wills is as maddening as it is delicious, but the longer he succeeds in managing the headstrong temptress, the closer Jeremy comes to losing control. When scandal breaks, can he bring himself to abandon Lucy to her ruin? Or will he risk his heart and claim her for his own?

My Thoughts

I’m so happy to be reading more Tessa Dare! I was in the mood to “read my shelf” – that is, all of my TBR books that are just sitting on my bookshelves, unread – and as I was looking through them, wondering what to read, I realized that I hadn’t read this series yet! With the next book in the Spindle Cove series coming out soon, I thought I should finally round out my Tessa Dare reading once and for all.

This was a fun book! I loved Lucy and I freaking loved Jeremy. They were perfect together! There wasn’t all the humour that’s in her newer books (though there are some great funny scenes) and some of the parts dragged just slightly for me, or were repeated a few times too many. I felt like there could’ve been some resolution earlier in the book – with some of the repetition of certain things going on, the book seemed longer than it should have.

BUT this book was still a wonderful read. I just love Tessa’s writing and how she writes such great female and male characters. The females are strong and fun and witty and just perfect. I loved the interaction between the men – Henry and Jeremy, specifically. I also really enjoyed how the story was about Lucy finding herself and where she fit in, as well as Jeremy overcoming issues of his past. Not only is there fun, games, and kissing, but a great story as well!

And can I just say how happy I am the next book is about Sophia? It’s going to be so much fun!

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

