[Book Talk] The Best Man (Blue Heron, #1) by Kristan Higgins (Audiobook)

the best manBook Details:

Format: Audiobook
Source: Borrowed
Read: August 2016

Blue Heron series

  1. The Best Man

Synopsis:

Faith Holland left her hometown after being jilted at the altar. Now a little older and wiser, she’s ready to return to the Blue Heron Winery, her family’s vineyard, to confront the ghosts of her past, and maybe enjoy a glass of red. After all, there’s some great scenery there… Like Levi Cooper, the local police chief—and best friend of her former fiancé. There’s a lot about Levi that Faith never noticed, and it’s not just those deep green eyes. The only catch is she’s having a hard time forgetting that he helped ruin her wedding all those years ago. If she can find a minute amidst all her family drama to stop and smell the rosé, she just might find a reason to stay at Blue Heron, and finish that walk down the aisle.

My Thoughts

I loved this book! This was my first Kristan Higgins book and I can see why she’s a favourite. I started listening to this story for Bout of Books and couldn’t stop listening! I loved Levi and Faith – as well as all the other characters we met – Jeremy, Honour, Prudence … It was great!

I think what I loved most about this book is that it wasn’t love or lust at first sight. The characters weren’t immediately likeable (especially Levi), but they definitely grew on me. I had seen the second book in this series on another blog somewhere and started listening to this one without really knowing anything about it (though I thought it might have something to do with a best man at a wedding) so I was so happy that it hooked me immediately!

Not only did this book have great romance (and not instant romance!) but it was funny, relatable, and kind of reminiscent of a Sex and the City storyline. I also loved that it took place on a farm – since I love farming books – and that Faith was the one who left the city. Honestly, when I finished this book I wished I could read more about Faith – I just loved her character!

I’m so excited to read the next book in this series and I really want to check out other series by Kristan Higgins as well. She’s such a fun author!

2 thoughts on “[Book Talk] The Best Man (Blue Heron, #1) by Kristan Higgins (Audiobook)

  1. Pingback: [Book Talk] The Perfect Match (Blue Heron, #2) by Kristan Higgins (Audiobook) | Reading In Winter

  2. Pingback: [Book Talk] Waiting On You (Blue Heron, #3) by Kristan Higgins (Audiobook) | Reading In Winter

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

