[Book Talk] Waiting On You (Blue Heron, #3) by Kristan Higgins (Audiobook)

waiting-on-youBook Details:

Format: Audiobook
Source: Borrowed
Read: September 2016

Blue Heron series

  1. The Best Man
  2. The Perfect Match
  3. Waiting On You

Synopsis:

Does being nobody’s fool mean that you’re nobody’s love?

Colleen O’Rourke is in love with love—just not when it comes to herself. Most nights, she can be found behind the bar at the Manningsport, New York, tavern she owns with her twin brother, doling out romantic advice to the lovelorn, mixing martinis, and staying more or less happily single. Ten years ago Lucas Campbell, her first love, broke her heart—an experience Colleen doesn’t want to have again, thank you very much. Since then, she’s been happy with a fling here and there, some elite-level flirting, and playing matchmaker to her friends.

But a family emergency has brought Lucas back to town, handsome as ever and still the only man who’s ever been able to crack her defenses. Seems like maybe they’ve got some unfinished business waiting for them, but to find out, Colleen has to let her guard down or risk losing a second chance with the only man she’s ever loved.

My Thoughts

Another wonderful instalment in the Blue Heron series! I loved this story and how it wasn’t just about two people meeting and falling in love. Lucas and Colleen have known each other forever so this book goes from the present to the past, talking about their rocky relationship, their ups and downs, their times together and times with other people. I kind of loved that idea, of two people already knowing each other for so long, even intimately, and now with outside circumstances bringing them back together again, they come to wonder what might have been and could it still be?

I loved Colleen. She was definitely a spitfire character who didn’t take any crap from anyone. And Lucas! In typical Blue Heron fashion, the male lead is not very likeable at first. This is no love at first sight, instalove story, thank god. This book had me holding on until the very end – SO many ups and downs between Lucas and Colleen, plus so many other things happening besides the romance of the story. In this series, family is so important. I love that we see the other characters we’ve met, like Faith and Prudence, we see the lovely Blue Heron again, we can almost taste the wine as we read … this is such a good series!

Amy Rubinate narrates the story wonderfully and I’m kind of sad my library doesn’t have the next two stories on audiobook because now that I’ve listened to the first two, I don’t want to read the rest of the series any other way! I think the thing that makes me like her is that it doesn’t sound like someone reading it. Does that make sense? I find that I can listen to this story and feel like I’m right there in the story like I’m observing it instead of being told it. I’m definitely interested in trying more of her titles!

I’m loving this series and look forward to reading the next books in it! I know I’ve said it in my last two reviews of this series, but I am loving Kristan Higgins. She’s so great!

 

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

