Top Ten Books I Want to Read By The End of the Year!

How is it already the middle of November? And almost the end of the year?? I’ve really been slacking this month on my reading, despite having a really good October for books, so I hope to make that up by the end of the year. My internal goal is to reach 150 books read this year so let’s see if I get there!

This year I’ve been working on the books that I’ve bought throughout the year, as well as trying to work my way through series books – I am behind on SO MANY series! Is it just me or are they never-ending? And I’m constantly starting new ones!

So I thought I might try to pull together a pile of books I’d love to finish by the end of the year, a mix of books I’ve bought this year (which I had actually intended to stay on top of but failed miserably) and series books. Hopefully I won’t stray too far from this list, but we’ll see what happens.

Top Ten Books I Hope To Read By the End of 2016

the-witches-of-new-york a-gathering-of-shadows one was lost like-a-river-glorious leave-me

The Witches of New York by Ami McKay

I LOVE Ami McKay! She wrote The Birth House and The Virgin Cure – both amazing books! Plus she’s Canadian. This book is going to be so good – plus, it just looks so beautiful!

A Gathering of Shadows (Shades of Magic, #2) by V. E. Schwab

I loved the first book in this series, a book I don’t think I would’ve bought on my own, but got through OwlCrate (if you love book subscriptions, this is a great one!). The first book was so unique and definitely a page-turner. I can’t wait to get back to the story. Plus the next book comes out soon so I better get caught up!

One Was Lost by Natalie D. Richards

I read Six Months Later by Natalie D. Richards a few years back and it was such a great mystery that I jumped at the chance to get a review copy of this one. It looks so interesting! Of course, I’m way behind on reviewing it so I should finally get it done!

Like A River Glorious (The Gold Seer Trilogy, #2) by Rae Carson

I love Rae Carson’s writing and this series is such a change from a lot of the Y.A. books I’ve read. I loved the feel of the first book and know this one won’t disappoint. Plus, how freaking gorgeous is that cover? It’s stunning in hardcover!

Leave Me by Gayle Forman

As a mom, this book definitely intrigues me! I was just okay with Gayle’s last book and hadn’t intended on buying this one, but then I read the synopsis and I was hooked!

timeless the-last-letter-from-your-lover the-most-wonderful-time-of-the-year surrender-of-a-siren the-littlest-bigfoot

Timeless (Timeless, #1) by Alexandra Monir

I’ve had this one on my shelf for a while now and I don’t know why I haven’t read it, or the second book in the duology because I LOVE time travel books!

The Last Letter From Your Lover by Jojo Moyes

Jojo Moyes never disappoints me and I haven’t read one of her books in a while now. Whenever I read another book by her I fall in love with her writing a little more. This one looks so good!

The Most Wonderful Time of The Year by Marie Landry

Not only is Marie an awesome writer, but she’s Canadian – AND this is a Christmas book! I love reading books about the holidays in December, so I can’t wait to read this one.

Surrender of a Siren (The Wanton Dairymaid Trilogy, #2) by Tessa Dare

I feel like one of the best ways to end the year would be to read one of Tessa’s books. Her writing is so addicting and I love that I’m saving this series to read throughout the year. I’m sad that once this one is done I’ll be totally caught up reading her books!

The Littlest Bigfoot by Jennifer Weiner

I haven’t read any of Jennifer Weiner’s books in a long time. She used to be one of my go-to authors, but then her writing style changed and I didn’t connect like I used to. I saw this book on the shelf at WalMart one day and just had to buy it! I always love it when authors write for another age range and I’m excited to see how this one goes.

… And 5 Audiobooks

the-winter-people heartless bitten

The Winter People by Jennifer McMahon

A mystery with a bit of horror and ghosts? Yes please!

Heartless (Parasol Protectorate, #4) by Gail Carriger

I am LOVING this series, especially on audiobook. Not only is the story amazing, but the narration by Emily Gray is perfection.

Bitten (Women of the Otherworld, #1) by Kelley Armstrong

This would actually be a reread for me, but I’ve been wanting to read this one again and actually continue with the series since I recall loving this book! And I recently fell completely head over heals with her Cainsville series so I want to knock another series of hers off my shelf.

vanishing-girls the-beautiful-and-the-cursed

Vanishing Girls by Lauren Oliver

Another book that I’ve had on my shelf for a while. I love Oliver’s writing and this one sounds so good! I have the hardcover and my library has the audiobook, which is a great way for me to work on the books on my shelf.

The Beautiful and the Cursed (The Dispossessed, #1) by Paige Morgan

And another one that’s been on my shelf for a while now! I not only bought this one for the story, but also that incredibly gorgeous cover – how can you not have it on your shelf? I’m so intrigued by this one since it’s a historical and a mystery … and maybe some paranormal action going on, too?

And that’s it on my list for the rest of the year! I hope I can stick to it since that would knock off lots of books from my TBR – and maybe I can get some more off of it, too, if I have a really good December!

What is on your reading list for the rest of the year? 

2 thoughts on “Top Ten Books I Want to Read By The End of the Year!

    • It was so weird reading Leave Me … I definitely had an opinion on it at the end, but really enjoyed reading it. And The Witches of New York is in my pile to read soon! I’ve loved both of Ami’s other books, so I know I’ll love this one.

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

