[Audiobook Talk] Driving Mr. Dead (Half-Moon Hollow, #1.5) by Molly Harper

driving-mr-deadBook Details:

Format: Audiobook
Source: Borrowed
Read: November 2016

Half-Moon Hollow series

  1. Driving Mr. Dead (#1.5)

Synopsis:

After failing as a magician’s assistant, a photographer, and most recently, a bride, Miranda Puckett takes a position as a driver for Beeline, Half-Moon Hollow’s premiere vampire concierge service.

Miranda’s assignment? Driving Collin Sutherland, the world’s most fastidious vampire from Washington to Kentucky, so he can deliver a mysterious black case to Council official Ophelia Lambert.

Collin, a paranoid, aristocratic vampire with a debilitating fear of flying, refuses to let the case out of his sight. Miranda needs this time on the road to decide whether to permanently cut her ties with the fiance that had an “emotional affair” with a childhood pal, but Collin’s neatnik tendencies are driving her around the bend. The man acts as if leaving a fast food wrapped on the passenger seat is reason for a full-on CDC de-contamination scrub-down of the car. All she can do is promise to stop intentionally doing the things that make his stiff upper lip twitch with irritation.

As more and more mishaps occur on the road trip from hell, Miranda and Collin work together to meet his delivery deadline. Hotel rooms are destroyed. Beloved cars are defiled. And somewhere along the line, client-driver hostilities become snarky flirtation.

Will Collin and Miranda make it to the Hollow in one piece? And if they do, will Miranda leave old, safe relationships behind for something new and well, just plain weird?

My Thoughts

Before reading this book, or listening to this book, I hadn’t heard of Molly Harper, but looking through her catalogue of books, I definitely recognized some covers!

I had downloaded this audiobook for a three hour drive I had ahead of me this past weekend. Since I was by myself, I wanted something good – and it didn’t have to be family friendly! One of my favourite bloggers, Felicia, had read this one and said it was great, so since I trust her opinion I bought it. It was so good!

I loved Miranda and Colin! It was so fun going on a road trip with them, with Miranda being the chauffeur to the dead – i.e. vampire Colin. The mood was funny and sexy and sweet and it really made me want to read not only more of this series, but to check out more of Molly’s work! I loved Colin and now he was so gruff and formal in the beginning and how he slowly let his guard down. And Miranda was hilarious – I literally laughed out loud numerous times over things she said! Her and Colin were perfect for one another and I only wished that the story was longer!

This was the perfect book for an afternoon drive and I was hooked the whole way through, so happy that I could listen to the book in one sitting. I can’t wait to read more in this series!

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

